9 Reasons I’m Convinced That Jesus Christ Is Alive And Present In Our World

I am convinced that Jesus Christ literally came back to life (what is called the resurrection) and walked out of His tomb. I haven’t always believed that. In high school I realized that I had no personal evidence to support a belief that Jesus rose so I rejected Him as a mere religious myth. Here are 9 reasons why I am now convinced that Jesus is alive and working in the Twenty-First Century.

1) In my freshman year of college I had a personal encounter with Jesus and my life has never been the same.

2) After that encounter I suddenly had a deep desire to read the Bible. As I began to read the New Testament, the words moved me deeply. The more I read it the more I became convinced of the truth of its claims. The Bible still burns in my heart when I read it.

3) I have personally known hundreds of people who have been transformed and set free through an encounter with Jesus, including dozens of drug addicts and alcoholics.

4) Once when I was talking to Jesus I felt an amazing release of joy from deep within me as words that I didn’t know flowed across my lips (called speaking in tongues). That experience made His presence more real to me than I ever dreamed possible. Ever since that day I can pray in a flow of words that I don’t know and be lifted into an amazing awareness of the presence of Jesus.

5) As an avid reader of church history I have encountered stories and testimonies of hundreds of people from various cultures through out the past 2,000 years who have had experiences with Jesus very similar to mine. If an encounter with Christ is nothing but a subjective experience (as some people claim) how can all these experiences of different people speaking different laguages in different cultures and time periods be so similar? For me that shows that Christ is still alive and that people actually meet Him as an objective reality.

6) The writers of the New Testament make the amazing claim that they, themselves, personally saw the resurrected Jesus or that they knew people who did.

7) I’ve seen Jesus answer too many prayers to count — everything from physical healings, to miraculous rescues, to financial break throughs, to emotional transformations, — far too many amazing things to be mere coincidence.

8) I know two people in Nashville who have literally seen Jesus. One woman grew up a Muslim in Baghdad. She was arrested under Saddam, imprisoned, and tortured and raped daily for months. Finally, in desperation she cried out, “God, whoever you are, please help me!” When she opened her eyes she saw Jesus literally standing in front of her. The next day a guard sneaked her out of prison and released her at the Jordanian border.

Another woman I know in Nashville grew up Jewish living in Jerusalem. She was taught that Jesus caused the Holocaust and she didn’t want anything to do with Him. However, as a young adult Jesus appeared to her several times. She finally accepted Him as her Messiah and passionately loves and serves Him today.

9) For the past two years I’ve been meeting with a group of people every Sunday that follows no program (called organic church). Each week we ask Jesus to show up and lead the meeting. The results are amazing. Every week we see things come together that no person could assemble. The resurrected Jesus can literally direct a meeting if we allow Him to. Here is a link to that group:  http://nashvillechristian.com/entry.php/141-People-Are-Talking-About-An-Unusual-Church-In-Nashville

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in apologists, Creator, God, history, lifestyles, organic church, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to 9 Reasons I’m Convinced That Jesus Christ Is Alive And Present In Our World

  1. Great post, Steve. Personal testimony is powerful—our best apologetic, I think.

    I was actually just thinking about writing a very similar post (on why I believe). I wonder if this is God prompting me to do it!

  2. Steve Simms says:

    Thanks, Chris. I’m sure your testimony will shine God’s light for people.

  3. Pingback: Christian Spectators Or Christian Participants | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: Happy Easter (Dead Man Walking Day) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  5. Pingback: Where Is The Heart In American Christianity? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  6. Pingback: Have A Jesus Demonstration Sunday | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  7. Pingback: Experiencing God In Strangers | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  8. Pingback: America Needs Mysticism | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  9. Pingback: Istanbul (Not Constantinople) — Nicholas Cabasilas Quotes | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  10. Pingback: The Greatest Country In The World | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  11. Pingback: Happy Birthday, King James Version | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  12. Pingback: Life Rocks When Religion Becomes Real (Or, Night At The Theological Museum) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  13. Pingback: The College That Changed My Life | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  14. Pingback: When Somebody’s Done You Wrong — 3 Responses | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  15. Pingback: It’s Time For A God-ward Gaze | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  16. Pingback: Modern Myth # 1 — Life Produced Itself | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  17. Pingback: Modern Myth # 1 — Life Produced Itself | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  18. Pingback: What Would Your Life Be Like If . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  19. Pingback: Is Science Close To Discovering Spiritual Reality? Check Out “Spooky Action” | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  20. Pingback: Christmas Claim — Who Was/Is Mary’s Son? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  21. Pingback: Creatively Changing Christmas Songs To Celebrate Christ More | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  22. Pingback: Why Is Christmas The Most Celebrated Day Of The Year? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  23. Pingback: Christmas Chatter | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  24. Pingback: Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  25. Pingback: Blind Belief? Or Spiritual Conversion | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  26. Pingback: My Day In Bethlehem (Not Pennsylvania) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  27. Pingback: The Christmas Gift Most Commonly Left Unopened | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  28. Pingback: World Famous “Good” Men Who Weren’t So Good | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  29. Pingback: WWJD? So What Did Jesus Do? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  30. Pingback: “Tebowing” Is Now An Official Word — What The Church Can Learn From Tim Tebow | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  31. Pingback: The Living God Is Convicting . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  32. Pingback: The Legitimate Reason For Rejecting Christ | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  33. Pingback: Tag-Team Church — A Nashville Prototype | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  34. Pingback: Hearing God’s Voice Made Me An Agnostic | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  35. Pingback: The Top Ten Boldest Quotations From The Book Of Acts | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  36. Pingback: The Donkey Rider In Jerusalem | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  37. Pingback: Is The Living Christ Allowed To Lead Easter Sunday Church Services? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  38. Pingback: “He Rose” By The Easter Name Is Not The Same | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  39. Pingback: WIJD? What Is Jesus Doing? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  40. Pingback: What’s Needed In Contemporary Ch__ch? u r (You Are Needed To Be An Active Participant Rather Than A Spectator!)) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  41. These aren’t 9 separate reasons, its just one reason continuously repeated. You claim to have seen and spoken to Jesus. The problem is that is a claim that can never be properly examined. Maybe you saw him or maybe you imagined it. We can never know. What would count as evidence would be if Jesus was recorded on film or tape. That could be examined and if found genuine would convince the world (myself included). As Jesus has not done this I can only conclude he does not particularly want us to believe in him or he does not exist.

    • Linda M. Grimley says:

      Robert, Maybe someone should explain to you what Faith is…If you don’t believe in Jesus – it is your prerogative – but if you want to see him – you must have faith in him; believe in the Kingdom to come – and completely hand your heart to him and try to be
      GOOD and KIND with your words and deeds. Those of us that have walked with our Lord know his love is overwhelming! It hits you like a brick, and when it does, you will believe in him and NEVER be afraid to say you do.

    • bianca babes says:

      thats it #Robert Nielsen

  42. Steve Simms says:

    Thanks for the comment and for reading this post, Robert. These are the reasons why I am convinced. I know my reasons may not convince you, but I am a former agnostic who is now fully persuaded that the claims made about Jesus are true.

  43. Pingback: Why Is Depression Rampant In America | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  44. Pingback: How Can You Heal A Broken Heart? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  45. Pingback: Religion’s Not Enough — Ya Gotta Be Hunnngggggry. | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  46. Pingback: A Brief (Alternative) History Of Western Christianity | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  47. Pingback: Was Matthias A Mistake — The Human Need To Institutionalize Spirituality | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  48. Pingback: No Shade On Grace | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  49. Pingback: Life’s Biggest Problem? Self! | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  50. Pingback: Are Your Selfish Desires Evil? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  51. Pingback: What Is The True Christian Church? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  52. Pingback: The Mess You’re In . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  53. Pingback: From Hinduism to Jesus Christ | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  54. Pingback: Let Jesus Run The Sunday Church Service | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  55. Pingback: My 21 Century Psalm (King David Style) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  56. Pingback: Poem — Feel The Real Deal Thrill . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  57. Pingback: A Simple Christmas Quiz | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  58. Pingback: What Do You Call The Sunday After Thanksgiving? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  59. Pingback: The World’s Most Unusual Christmas Greeting | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  60. Pingback: 2013 — A New Year? Or The Same Ole Same Ole? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  61. Pingback: How To Surf Brainwaves To Hope, Health, & Happiness | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  62. Pingback: Two Questions About Human Leadership Vs. The Spirit’s Leadership In Church | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  63. Pingback: The Wilberforce Force — Undying Passion To Make A Difference For Righetousness | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  64. Kirk Daughtry says:

    I had a physical encounter with Jesus around 15 years ago. I was hiking in the mountains in Hawaii, with my then-wife, Robin. He was very real. He had a white aura of light around Him. I was completely lucid. He communicated with me without speaking. Robin saw Him, also. After our encounter with Jesus, we walked about 50 yards down the trail, and, looking back to see Him, one last time, we discovered He had disappeared. He revealed a great many things to me in that brief encounter, and, I think of Him often. He wants us all to become as He has become. He also taught me that death is not something we really need to experience. I know this may sound a bit odd, but, He showed me that we are all destined to overcome death, as He already has. He is our older brother, and he wants us all to take on the Mind of God, as He has done.

    I had this encounter with Jesus about 30 minutes after praying for proof that God is real. I know, now, that God IS real, and that God lives within us all. We need only open up to this reality.

  65. Pingback: The Day After Easter | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  66. Sadiq Adavize Steven says:

    I don’t think it’s reasonable doubting whether Jesus is alive or not. Although my family converted when I was a kid, I was finally convinced of being born again around 2010 at age 28. Just today April 2, 2013, between 12am and 3am I think, Jesus appeared to me in a dream in the mode of end time, sitting on the throne. In short I saw myself and a sibling only from a family of over 15 before Jesus. I also saw a mentally retarded woman and a mad man supposed to be her husband before the throne of Jesus. I was not too happy when my younger brother who’s less religious than me appeared to be rated better than me by Jesus Christ in that dream. Thereafter Jesus Christ lead me to the multitudes who’re to face the wrath of God but they appeared happy, celebrating and dancing ruggedly some of my family members inclusive. Please help me pray for my family because it’ll be a loss if only 2 from a family of about 20 made heaven. And this world may be ending soon. I mean very quickly due to the warning of Our Lord Jesus Christ. May God interprete this better to all the readers of this text and help you to amend your ways in Jesus Name. Amen!

  67. Pingback: The Real Royal Baby . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  68. Justareader says:

    Hi Steve-
    I found your blog post while doing some research. I have seen Jesus, with my own eyes. Twice. I would be glad to share my experiences with you if you want to email me.

  69. Pingback: Celebrating the Pregnant Virgin | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  70. Pingback: Fresh/New/Original Christmas/Holiday Greetings | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  71. Pingback: Early Morning Thoughts On Good Friday (2014) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  72. Pingback: Salvation–A Word Lost To The 21st Century (Except For The Salvation [Rescue & Deliverance] Army) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  73. Pingback: TN Commissioner of Agriculture, Cotton Ivy, at a Pentecostal Church | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  74. Pingback: Robin Williams Made Me Think About Suicide | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  75. Pingback: A Come To Jesus Meeting . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  76. Pingback: The Kingdom of God & The Inner Light | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  77. saige taylor toft says:

    ;)

  78. Pingback: Christmas Thoughts For The Intellectual: Matter is Mist-ticle — Reality is Mystical! | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

