Did Oprah Read My Book?

I wrote and published a book on self-esteem. It has a unique title: Your Sperm Won — Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being.  It is about the incredible statistical odds against any particular human being, being conceived.  The premise is that if you and me (and every other human) beat such overwhelming odds to be on the planet, then we (every last one of us) must be incredible winners — world championship human beings. 

After Your Sperm Won was published I mailed a copy to Oprah Winfrey.  Then a year or so later Oprah gave a commencement address for Salem College.  (I found Oprah’s speech on the web.)  She gives a perfect description of my book:

“The wonder and the beauty of it stops me cold. When you think about how each of us came into being, I think of my father Vernon and my mother Bonita, who were only together one time because she wore a poodle skirt that day. A sperm meets an egg and a life comes into being, but it is so much bigger than that. I am not here because Vernon and Bonita decided to stop on the way home from school one day. Nor are you. Your life is no accident; you were literally loved into being. You exist because God loves you.” –quote from Oprah Winfrey

So, did Oprah read my book? It sure looks like she did.  And it sounds like it had an impact on her.

Oprah has had a positive influence on many millions of people.  Her show will be missed by many. 

Here’s another connection I have with Oprah.  I co-lead an urban outreach ministry and nontraditional, organic church, just a few blocks from where Oprah lived in high school and from her father’s barber shop.  One of our members was one of her best friends in high school. 

Maybe when she comes to East Nashville to visit, I can ask her if she read my book.  All the best to you for the future, Oprah!

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in biography, black history, Creator, God, history, house church, lifestyles, Nashville, popular culture, public speaking, Quotations, Quotes, self-help, sex, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did Oprah Read My Book?

  1. Pingback: My Top 12 Blogs For 2011 | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

