Ralph Abernathy Said What!

Famous Civil Rights leader, Ralph Abernathy, was a campus speaker when I was in college at The University of Tennessee Martin. In a packed ball room he told about his experiences in the Civil Rights Movement and about working with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

After his lecture, he asked if there were any questions. I threw my hand up and he picked me. I asked: “Rev. Abernathy, would you please tell us how you came to know Jesus Christ as your Savior?”

Rev. Abernathy seemed a bit startled by the question. He paused, then he said: “When I was a young boy I went to the altar one Sunday morning in my father’s Baptist church and there I met Jesus Christ. And I’ve never been the same.” Then he got excited. He sounded like he was preaching from the pulpit in that special black-church style. For five minutes or so he boldly declared his love for Jesus Christ.

After we were dismissed, several angry people rushed up to me. One guy said: “Why did you ask him THAT?” “I was curious,” I said.

Another firmly stated: “He wasn’t here for THAT!” I replied, “He didn’t have to answer my question.” But I am sure glad he did. Even today, as I remember Ralph Abernathy’s passion for Jesus Christ, I am inspired!

After all, if Christianity is true, there is no better topic than THAT — the testimony of how Jesus Christ changed a human life.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in apologists, biography, black history, Civil Rights, freedom, God, history, human rights, Jesus Christ, lifestyles, popular culture, prejudice, Quotations, Quotes, race, religion, social justice, speech making, Uncategorized, What is church? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ralph Abernathy Said What!

  1. David Costellow says:

    Jesus Christ, the ultimate emancipator!

  2. Steve Simms says:

    Amen, David! That’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

