Roaring Fork, Foxfire Mountain, & Spiritual Living Waters

Zip-ah-dee-do-dah

On a recent trip to Gatlinburg, I saw a brochure from Foxfire Mountain in Sevierville, Tennessee.  It was about zip lining, soaring from one tree to another on long cables. 

During my week at Tree Top Resort in Gatlinburg I stayed above the Roaring Fork mountain stream.  Sitting on the deck and hearing the living waters roaring, made me think about Jesus’ words that “out of your innermost being shall flow rivers of living water.” 

Then it hit me, I am not just supposed to watch the living waters in others (preachers, teachers, etc.) or soak it up through conferences, seminars, worship cds, books, teaching dvds, etc.  I am supposed to be a source of living water.  That Roaring Fork type flow is supposed to be continually running out of me (and you)!.  But how?

The living water flows through us in many ways — through our obedience to do what God tells us; through our manifesting the fruit of the Spirit; through godly words and actions; through speaking in tongues; etc.  We are even told to “stir up the gift that is within you” — don’t allow the living waters to die down, but keep ‘em flowing!

Okay.  So I kept looking at the water and then I realized I was facing up-stream and it was flowing into me.  That’s our big mistake as Christians.  We are like a baby bird, mouth wide open saying “fill me, fill me, I need!”  But that isn’t what Jesus had in mind.  He said that the living water (the Holy Spirit) would flow out of us.

So I turned and looked down stream.  The idea of all that power and flow coming out of me did something to me.  It gave me courage and boldness.  The living water in Roaring Fork is loud, bold, free-flowing, unconcerned with what people think, not slowed down by huge obstacles (rocks), and going somewhere important. 

That’s supposed to be me (and you, too)!  So I thought about Foxfire Mountain.  I looked from my third story deck and thought, “How could I step off a platform and trust a wire to keep me from falling?”  Then I heard the roaring water.  No time for timidity.

I asked my college student daughter if she wanted to go with me.  We did.  We boldly soared.  I left the lump in my throat and the timidity in my stomach on the platform at Foxfire as I soared for 1,550 feet, over a valley 250 feet below me while dangling from a cable by a green strap of material connected to two small pulleys.  Whew! 

Now it is time to soar in the Spirit — to let the living water flow through me, boldly, unhindered by opinions, traditions, or consequences.   And also to gather with others and let the Spirit flow among us creating New Testament, organic church.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in Bible, biography, Foxfire Mountain, freedom, Gatlnburg, God, history, house church, Jesus Christ, lifestyles, Oh my God, organic church, popular culture, prayer, Quotations, Quotes, religion, self-help, Uncategorized, What is church?, zip line and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roaring Fork, Foxfire Mountain, & Spiritual Living Waters

  1. Pingback: Counting The Words Of Jesus (1-10) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  2. Pingback: Inner Peace In A Troubled World? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  3. Pingback: Am I A Victim Of Discrimination & Hate Speech For Being A Tongue-Talker? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: Zip Line To God | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

