The Best Mall Of All

I am into consumerism, but not shopping for stuff. (Traditional shopping can be torture for me.) So my favorite mall is not one with retail stores.  The mall that gets me excited is Wisdom’s Mall — the public library.

I love libraries. They are stocked with my favorite consumer item — wisdom. In public libraries, you don’t get free shipping; you get free shopping. All that wonderful wisdom is your’s for the taking. What a deal! Somebody tell Dave Ramsey about this one!

Shopping for wisdom at the public library is the ultimate recycling. When you are finished with a book of wisdom, you take the book back, but keep the wisdom. There is absolutely no waste for our local landfill. Now that’s green!

Wisdom-shopping is so exciting. I am hooked on it. I love the thrill of finding inspiration that gives me hope and encouragement. I am delighted when I find information that gives me practical advice about how to live a better life.

I am always so thrilled with my wisdom-shopping discovery that I copy wisdom in a journals and keep it. My 3 dozen hand-written books of collected wisdom are a continual lift for me. Whenever I start to battle negative emotions, I pick one up and begin consume its wisdom. In short order, I’m inspired and encouraged.

I’m not sure how I got started wisdom-shopping. I think I began it as a way to deal with my insecurities. I started out as a book worm. I read every positive thinking book I could find. Then I became a tape worm, listening to every motivational cassette tape I could get.  For one period I attended a lot of seminars. Then I went through an internet phase, googling for scads of free wisdom.  Now I am back to books, reading several every month.

If you need a lift, why not go shopping for wisdom in a library? Shop ’till you drop your fears, worries, frustrations, hang-ups, and disappointments. Wisdom-shop ’till you stop all your negative thoughts. If you are like me, that will make you a lifetime wisdom-shopper.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in American Literature, books, change management, English, English literature, lifestyles, Quotations, Quotes, self-esteem, self-help, self-image, shopping, thinking, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Mall Of All

  1. morganhchs says:

    My mom is a bookworm too. She loves to read. I myself have been doing some shopping at that same mall which I haven’t done in a while.

  2. Steve Simms says:

    Morgan: Glad you are back at the library. And very glad to have you at The Salvation Army Berry Street Worship Center!

  3. Pingback: Positive Reading Is Super Inspiration | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

