The Most Dangerous Spiritual Condition

Perhaps the most dangerous spiritual condition is to sincerely believe that you are saved (right with God) when you are not.  Let me give you an example.

Suppose I ship you all the tickets you need to a great event that you really want to attend, let’s say to the game when your favorite NFL team plays their most exciting opponent this fall.  You email me and enthusiastically thank me.  Then you put your tickets in a safe place.

Now, I have a question for you.  Will you be trying to get tickets for that game?   No, because in your mind, you have no more need for tickets and therefore no desire for them.

Now let’s suppose that you show up at the stadium gate and they run your tickets through their machine.  Then you hear the ticket-taker say:  “I’m sorry, but these are not real tickets.” 

You are shocked and angry.  You’ve been had.  You were given a gift of counterfeit tickets and that gift satisfied you and made you unconcerned about getting into the big game. 

So it is spiritually.  If you are overconfident about being saved and believe you have unconditional tickets for Heaven, you won’t be seeking salvation, because people don’t seek what they believe they have obtained.  But what if you die and find out that your salvation is counterfeit?  It will be too little, too late.  And that is a very sad condition.

Paul asks this question:  “Have you believed in vain?”  He also commands us to:  “Examine yourself whether you be in the faith.”

Salvation is a lifetime process of seeking God, dying to self, and having Christ formed in you.  It is extremely dangerous to be satisfied with our spiritual condition. 

Paul wrote:  “Forgetting what is behind, I press toward the mark of the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” 

So are you saved?  Here are some questions to think about:  Is there a spiritual fire burning in your heart that won’t go out?  Are you continually hungering and thirsting after righteousness and more of God?  When you do wrongful things, are you deeply convicted and do you quickly turn away from them?  Are you a “new creature” and have old things “passed away” and all things “become new?” 

It is dangerous to be spiritually satisfied and to be overconfident about your relationship with God.  One more Bible quotation:  “Let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall.”  Perhaps we all need to be continually and passionately pursuing God!

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in disciple making, kingdom of God, National Football League, NFL, organic church, positive thinking, Quotations, Quotes, religion, revelation, salvation, saved, simple church, soul, spiritual, thinking, thoughts, Uncategorized, What is church? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Most Dangerous Spiritual Condition

  1. habeas corpus says:

    Glad to see the spell checker doesn’t work for Headlines either.

    • Steve Simms says:

      Gee! How did I spell dangerous “danerous” and leave the “g” out in the title of this blog? Guess I better fix that. Thanks for the heads up, habeas corpus. My spelling needs all the help I can get!

      I guess it is also dangerous being over confident about spell check and not proof reading for myself.

  2. Steve: I usually agree with your posts enthusiastically, but not today. There are perfectly well saved people in the world who on a day, or for a season, may not be hungry, or enthusiastically seeking God. I get your point, but if we can not be confident, we have have nothing. I dont’ think God expects a performance, and I don’t think he will ask for our resume. I think we have the freedom to fail and I’m glad about that.

    respectfully
    steve

    • Steve Simms says:

      Thanks for the comment, Steven. You make some good points. However, for me, my eternal destiny is one thing I don’t want to take for granted. It’s not effort or works that get us to Heaven, it is Christ living in us. It is a good thing to make sure that we keep a watch on or relationship with Christ and make certain that His spiritual fire in our hearts doesn’t go out. Remember Jesus parable about the virgins whose lamp goes out.

  3. Pingback: What The Hell Is Hell? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

