Down By The Spout Where God’s Glory Pours Out

I was in a church once and the pastor was trying to get some of the people sitting in the back rows to come and sit near the front.  He told them:  “Come down by the spout where the glory pours out.”

Now I don’t think that the glory of God is strong in the front of a church building than in the back.  In fact, the glory of God may not be in a church building at all. 

However, if you have ever experienced the glory of God, you know when you encounter it.  There is a sense of awe, of being overwhelmed — undone.  A great example of an encounter with God’s glory is in Isaiah chapter 6 where the prophet discover’s God’s glory in the temple.

So is there a spout where God’s glory pours out?  Jesus said:  “Out of your innermost being shall flow rivers of living water.”  There is an inner flow that carries the glory of God.  How do we catch the current of  the Holy Spirit’s inner rivers? 

If we, “Quench not the Spirit,” we can encounter the spout where God’s glory pours out. If we learn to listen to God’s voice in our heart, cultivate it, and obey it, we will be overwhelmed by God’s Presence.   If we choose to be responsive to God’s voice rather than to our own thoughts, desires, and opinions, we will see God work in our midst the same way He worked in the Bible.

A non-tradtional church in East Nashville is seeking the spout where God’s glory pours out!  During the Sunday meeting people are free to do whatever God tells them to do.  As they humbly hear and respond to God’s voice, the sense of His glory begins to be felt by those present.  We stand in awe of His manifest glory.

Sundays at 10:45, 225 Berry Street, Nashville, TN, 37207 — The Salvation Army Berry Street Worship Center.  The most important thing about a church is not where it meets, or denominational affiliation, but the degree to which God’s Spirit is allowed to work in the meeting. 

 

 

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in awe, Berry Street, Berry Street Worship Center, East Nashville, God, Holy Spirit, house church, life, lifestyles, Nashville, Oh my God, spiritual, The Salvation Army, What is church? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Down By The Spout Where God’s Glory Pours Out

  1. One of the joys of being a church member is to gather around when it becomes apparent to all that “God is in this place.” I know. I have experienced the feeling many times.

    But – to me, the joy comes through the little things that one can do simply by living in a time when there are so very many needs. This morning, I happened to note a “For Sale” sign on a nearby house where we had often seen, a resident sunning himself in his wheel chair, more often asleep. I decided to stop and introduce myself and what a joy it was to meet this retired veteran who is moving to be closer to VA facilities. We chatted for awhile, exchanged names, and I left – only to feel that certain nudge that He had seen the exchange and was pleased. I had often prayed for my new friend, but now that I know his name and his spirit, I am certain it will be easier to remember him in my daily prayers.

  2. Dilan says:

    I was a salvatiom army captain. I resigned the SA in 2007. since then i am doing a organic church. I am happy to read this blog.

  3. Pingback: Spiritual Conductivity/Resistivity | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

