Happy TGTD To You! (Tell God Thanks Day)

Happy TGTD!  (Tell God Thanks Day)  I wish you and your family a peaceful, grateful day today.  May you be overcome with joy as you realize God’s blessings on your life and thank Him for all He has done for you!

Thank You, Lord, that we have all lived to experience another day that our government has set aside to tell You thanks!  Thank You, Lord, for the freedom we have to openly express our love for You, our commitment to You, and our gratitude for all You have done for us.

Thank You, Lord, for my wife and my daughter.  Thank You, that we have all four of our parents alive in their 80s. Thanks for all of our brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, and their families.

Thank You, Lord, for my friends and my brothers and sisters in Christ.  Thank You, for the amazing opportunity You gave my wife and I with The Salvation Army to start and lead a non-traditional church in East Nashville.

Thank You, Lord, for not giving up on us — for making us aware of our sins and of our need to turn more completely to You and to Your forgiveness and Your power to live a life of victory over bondage to sin.

Thank You, Lord, for carrying me through one of the most difficult and painful years of my life.  I would have completely fallen apart this year without Your strength working in me.

Thank You, Lord, that in the midst of all the world’s pain — economic instability, wars, violence, injustice, hunger, disease, and evil — You continue to offer Your love and Your strength to all who will follow and obey You.

Thank You, Lord, for Your great mercy and forgiveness, that you offer to us all even though none of us humans deserve it.

Thank You, Lord, for protecting the United States against another major terrorist attack since 911.  Your power has protected us, not our own.

Thank You, Jesus, for the greatest example of love in the history of the world — Your death on the cross and taking the judgment for our sins upon Yourself.  Thank You, for rising from the dead!  And thank You, for being present with us in the 21st Century.

Thank You, Jesus, for showing me Your reality 41 years ago.  You are my best friend, my strength, my heart’s love.  Thank You for the wonderful relationship You have given me with You!

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in Christianity, conscience, East Nashville, freedom, God, gratitude, Jesus, Jesus Christ, life, meaning, popular culture, religion, thanksgiving, Thanksgiving Day, The Salvation Army, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy TGTD To You! (Tell God Thanks Day)

  1. David says:

    Thank you Steve for sharing this, and Natalie and I are very thankful for you and Ernie and that God had it in his heart that our paths should cross. Happy Thanksgiving! Love, david and natalie and fam.

  2. Pingback: A Joy-Filled Lifestyle | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

