Are Americans Apathetic To & Bored By Their Own Brain? (I Love My Own Thoughts)

We Americans are brainwashed, continually choosing our culture’s hype instead of actively tuning in to the brain that we’ve each been blessed with.

We have within our brains the most amazing mental apps ready to release currents of creativity, inspiration, and joyous ideas.  Yet it appears to me that Americans are uninterested in their own thoughts, bored by their own brain.  (However, for some reason, I am just the opposite:  I enjoy the output of my brain; I love my own thinking.)

In gyms almost everybody on an exercise machine is plugged into music or a TV — no way for very many of their own thoughts to slip through that.  (Meanwhile I plug into my own brain and sweat to my own ponderings.)

Public walls (whether in restaurants, bars, doctors’ offices, or stores) are laden with flashing flat screens, sending sensual sights and sounds that drown our minds with drivel.   Smartphones (and their apps) dumb us down by distracting us from our own thinking.

Our think tanks are out of gas, while we, like nursing babies, (ignoring the milk of our magnificent mind) suck in the sugar-water formula of our culture’s craziness.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in American, Americans, apps, brain chemistry, brain research, brainwashed, flat screens, joy, smartphone apps, smartphones, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are Americans Apathetic To & Bored By Their Own Brain? (I Love My Own Thoughts)

  1. Terri says:

    Unfortunately, Christians are like that too They may tune out the “wordly” media, but then they just follow the hype an political correctness of the mainstream Christian media equally without any serious critical thinking. You are not any less brainwashed by pop culture just becauase that culture using the world God occasionally.

  2. Pingback: Apply These Apps For Spiritual Strength | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

