Famous Harvard Grad Loves Jesus (Is This Linsanity?)

A famous Harvard graduate, Jeremy Lin, is openly talking about his deep faith in and commitment to Jesus Christ.  Lin is an overnight sensation, coming from an unknown point guard for the New York Knicks to suddenly becoming the biggest star in the NBA.

This excitement has created a surge of creativity playing on Lin’s name.  The most popular word used to describe the sensation of Jeremy Lin is Linsanity.  Others are Linsation, Lintriguing, Linsurgency, Linspiration, Lindomitable, and Lincredible.  These (and other) words are used in catchy titles like this one: “Linnovative Jeremy Lin Lincites Linternet Linsanity.”

However, perhaps even more amazing than Lin’s sudden basket ball success and the public craze about him is his openness about his love for Jesus.  Lin, an Asian American of Chinese background, is even being called the “Taiwan Tebow.” (He is very popular in China, however the atheistic government there is unfairly censoring Lin’s statements about Christ.)

Here are some quotations from Jeremy about his faith:

“God’s given me a unique platform and right now I’m trying to use it in the right way.  I can use national television, I can use media in a way to talk about my faith, to talk about how much God has done in my life, not what I’ve done to make it to the NBA.”

“I’m playing for my prize in heaven, for the upward call that Paul talks about, that’s what I need to remind myself every day when I wake up.”  (Lin wears a bracelet that reads, “In Jesus’ Name I Play.”)

“People want to talk about me being Asian.  First and foremost, my identity is me being a Christian.  I’m a nondenominational Christian and I grew up in the Bay Area.  I’ve been going to church my whole life, so I’ve been blessed by God to be in this situation.  You know, it’s really a miracle.  There are so many different parts of my story that I never could have seen coming.  And there were so many tough situations, what I thought were bad situations, that God turned into great situations.  So, I’m very, very thankful to Him.”

 


About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in alternative lifestyle, American, Asian American, basketball, bracelet, challenges, China, Chinese, Christ, Christian history, Christianity, church, church history, courage, evidence for God, Harvard, hearing God, hearing Jesus, In Jesus' Name I Play, Jeremy Lin, Jesus, Jesus Christ, joy, life, lifestyles, Linsanity, miracles, multi-racial, NBA, New York Knicks, Oh my God, Point guard, popular culture, praise and worship, public speaking, Quotations, quote, Quotes, race, religion, spiritual, spiritual formation, Taiwan Tebow, tebow, tebowing, television, Tim Tebow, TV, Uncategorized, voice of God, wake-up call and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Famous Harvard Grad Loves Jesus (Is This Linsanity?)

  1. Pingback: I Worked Up The Courage To Tebow (But Somebody Thought I Was Sick) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  2. Lily says:

    That bracelet was a blessing to both

  3. Pingback: What’s More Exciting Than March Madness | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: Tim Tebow, Jeremy Lin, & Now Bubba Watson — W.G.U.T.? (What’s God Up To?) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  5. Pingback: Congratulations! The NFL Draft Chooses You To Be A Playmaker | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  6. Pingback: Ideas to Tone Down the NBA, the NFL, and the Olympics | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

