I Worked Up The Courage To Tebow (But Somebody Thought I Was Sick)

For about a year I’ve been working out at a Nashville YMCA on an elliptical machine.  About a month ago I felt like I was supposed to tebow (to bow in prayer the way that Tim Tebow does) but I didn’t have the courage to do it.

Well, I finally worked up the courage to tebow.  After I finish on the elliptical machine I kneel and pray briefly.  Yesterday, however, when I began to tebow, I got a little carried away and prayed longer than usual.

All of a sudden, I felt something tapping me on the shoulder.  Then I heard someone saying; “Sir, are you alright?”

I stopped praying, opened my eyes, and saw a woman who works for the Y standing over me with a concerned look in her eyes.  She thought I was sick or about to pass out.

“I’m just tebowing,” I said.  Her face was blank.

“I’m bowing in prayer the way that Tim Tebow does,” I repeated.

“Are you sure you are alright?” she asked.

I tried to assure her that I was okay, but I noticed that she kept watching me the rest of my time at the Y.

They call Jeremy Lin the Taiwan Tebow.  I wonder if he ever has these kinds of problems.

 

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in Asian American, elliptical machine, Jeremy Lin, lifestyles, Linsanity, Music City, Nashville, NBA, NFL, prayer, prayer walking, spiritual disciplines, spiritual formation, spiritual skills, Taiwan Tebow, tebow, tebowing, the Y, Tim Tebow, Uncategorized, values, YMCA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Worked Up The Courage To Tebow (But Somebody Thought I Was Sick)

  1. David says:

    great story steve, I’m sure that lady won’t be forgetting what tebowing is anytime soon :)

  2. Pingback: How To Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  3. Pingback: Tim Tebow, Jeremy Lin, & Now Bubba Watson — W.G.U.T.? (What’s God Up To?) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: New Video ‘Bout Tebow . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  5. Pingback: 3N1 — A Great Time Saver | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

