I Deal In Idealism (Asking “Why Not” Instead Of “Why”?)

I deal in idealism.  I guess this George Bernard Shaw quote (often mistakenly attributed to Robert Kennedy) says it best:

“Some men see things as they are and ask why. Others dream things that never were and ask why not.”

When I ask “why” I want to cry or to deny; but when I ask “why not” I want to try — I want to aim high!

Idealism ignites the inspiration that dreams can be made to come true.  It creates the fire to defeat despair and pursue worthy desire.

The so called, “real world” doesn’t have a monopoly on reality.  The best that’s never been can yet be.

So why ask “why” when you can ask “why not”?  Wrong questions:  If there is a God why does He allow evil?  Or:  Since there is evil how can I use it for my benefit?  Better question:  Since there is evil both in the world and in me, why not strive to find a way to overcome it?

And here’s another great question to replace the “whys” in your life:  How?  How can I make things better?  How can I get through this?  How can I make a difference in the world?

Of course, many idealists burn out when their own efforts and dreams fail to achieve the results they want in the time frame they desire.  Delay defeats them.  Distractions destroy their desire for destiny.

To continually pursue the ideal requires more than motivation and method.  It requires clear vision that the ideal is the real — recognition that what we call “the real world” is transitory and temporary.

So called “realism” deals with situations and stuff that are here today and gone tomorrow.  Last year’s “realism” fades away in the light of today’s.

But idealism remains.  The same fire that burned in the hearts of the truly great women and men of the past burns yet today in the hearts of a few who refuse to do what they are told to — who refuse to conform the crowd and deny their desire for eternal, non-material realities such as;  justice, purity, peace, fairness, compassion, love, righteousness, honesty.

How can I avoid being overcome by the illusionary hype of the delusional denial of the ideal?  Here’s my answer to that question:

Log on to your heart’s inner site of hope.  Download destiny into your consciousness.  Follow, like, share, and repost the transcendent thoughts that take your breath away.  Continually cultivate a craving for the consummate.  Persistently pursue the purist and best that you can envision.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in alternative lifestyle, compassion, conscience, consciousness, crying, deciision making, download, dream, feelings, George Bernard Shaw, guidance, hearing God, hope, human rights, ideal, idealism, meaning, moral principles, morality, morals, motivation, mystery, mysticism, non-material reality, nonviolence, peace, Quotations, quote, Quotes, recovery, revelation, Robert Kennedy, self-help, sobriety, stuff, supernatural, thoughts, trust, values, vision and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Deal In Idealism (Asking “Why Not” Instead Of “Why”?)

  1. David says:

    excellent post Steve! you rock man :)

  2. Reblogged this on Rough-Hewn Blog and commented:
    Thanks Steve for this interesting take on Idealism :)

  3. Pingback: Insider Report — Tattoos | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

