Do You Know God?

Do you know God?  Not religion or church or the Bible or prayer or worship or doctrine or Footprints In The Sand; but is the Creator, Himself, real and alive in your heart?

Are you captivated by God’s majesty and glory.  Are you overwhelmed by His beauty?  Does God talk to you, stir your heart, and inspire you to passionately seek His presence? Does He show you your sins and urge you to stop them?

Is God’s fire flaming in your chest?

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in alternative lifestyle, beauty, belief, Bible, burning heart, Catholic mystics, Christian, Christianity, church, clear conscience, confession, contemplation, conversion, conviction of sin, Creator, dancing with God, devotion, evidence for God, faith, faith-based, gift of God, God, God-shaped vacuum, good question, good sermon, guidance, hearing God, hearing Jesus, inner rivers, insight, inward change, life, lifestyles, majesty, mystery, mysticism, Oh my God, peace, presence of Christ, presence of God, religion, religious ceremonies, repent, revelation, self-denial, sermon, sermons, sin, spiritual, spiritual formation, spiritual growth, still small voice, The Voice, words on fire and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do You Know God?

  1. sherwood8028 says:

    Are you captivated by God’s majesty and glory?

    I was lying on a bulkhead on a troopship headed for Japan and it was in the dead of night. I could not sleep so – against orders, I went out and sought a place where I would not be spotted. I had no idea as to what I was thinking at the time, but I recall that I gasped at the enormity of the scene and it was as if I heard a voice from out there. “Everything things going to be OK!” To this day, I cannot recollect my thoughts, but often, as my worlds have seemed to collapse around me, that moment comes to mind.

    That ended my question as to whether there is a God. There is. I know. I have heard His voice.

    That voice together with the wisdom I have learned through the teachings of His Son, now, my Lord, makes this journey through life, an exhilarating experience. Eighty two years and counting.

  2. YES! YES! YES! My cup runneth over. You just put into mere words how I fill my day, every day, and am overwhelmed sometimes as I become even more awakened and really know Him. It’s so good to know Him.

    • sherwood8028 says:

      But of course, a grateful Gracie would respond. Just imagine, her parents loved her so much that they gave her the name that represents all that is right about the world in which we toil – Grace, truly amazing Grace.

  3. Pingback: My 21 Century Psalm (King David Style) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

