Am I A Victim Of Discrimination & Hate Speech For Being A Tongue-Talker?

I have been a tongue-talker for forty-one years.  (Speaking in tongues is a gift of the Holy Spirit that enables a person to speak in languages he/she doesn’t know.  It is a powerful spiritual experience that fills a person with intimate awareness of the living God and it means so much to me.)

However, many times I have been criticized for speaking in tongues (even though it’s not something I tend to do in public).  I have been told that it is wrong to do it and even that it is “of the devil.”  My being a tongue-talker has even brought me trouble at work and played a role in my losing a job.  People’s reactions against my private behavior have frequently made me feel like I need to stay in the closet and not let people know about it, which I have for the most part.

So, am I a victim of discrimination and hate speech for being a tongue-talker?  I don’t see it that way.

People have a right to disagree with me.  They have a right to disapprove of my behavior.  I would have to be very insecure to protest and organize and demand that the government and the general public approve of my practice.

For me to accuse people who disagree with me of being mean, hateful, or phobic, would itself be cruel.  People are not attacking me.  They are expressing their freedom of speech to disagree with my lifestyle.  Besides, they just don’t understand.

Even though two restaurants, Starbucks and Chick-Fil-A (and its owner Truett Cathy), disagree on their views of marriage, why should either side be called hateful or phobic?  America and the Western world need to wake up and realize that honest disagreement about behaviors is not hate!  Disapproval is not discrimination!

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in alternative lifestyle, attitude, belief, belief system, business, Christian, Christian values, Christianity, clear conscience, coffee, compliance, compromise, conscience, contemporary, conviction of sin, corrupt culture, criticism, cruel, cultural taboos, deciision making, deny yourself, disapproval, ethics, faith-based, fast food, gift of God, gifts of the Spirit, guidance, hate, hate speech, human rights, life, lifestyle Christianity, lifestyles, message, moral principles, moral restraints, morality, morals, natural laws, preference, prejudice, restaurant, right and wrong, right conduct, self-denial, sex, sex in marriage, sin, Starbucks, victims, Western world and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Am I A Victim Of Discrimination & Hate Speech For Being A Tongue-Talker?

  1. elizabeth s says:

    i grew up in a pentecostal church and they believed in speaking in tongues and practice it. i now attend salvationarmy and they do believe in it but donot practice it during worship. i use it privately when i feel led but i donot discriminate or disapprove those who donot because they will have to answer to God for their beliefs and doings.

  2. sherwood8028 says:

    Speaking in tongues is a gift from God and those who know Him are not going to object. On the other hand, there are those who speak according to the teaching of other men and we need not make any further comment.

  3. Pingback: Who Will Carry Me When I Feel Like I Can’t Go On? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: Who Will Carry Me When I Feel Like I Can’t Go On? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  5. Pingback: Spiritual Gifts Are Holy Spirit Expressions Not Human Possessions | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  6. Pingback: My Favorite Prayer | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  7. Pingback: 6 Reasons Why The Civil Rights Activits Didn’t Call Their Opponents “Haters” | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

