War Of The Wills

There are two wills at war in the world — the human will and God’s will.  It is a real war not just an illusion.

We humans were created with free will — the ability to make our own choices and decide our own path.  That way we could choose to follow and obey God’s will out of love rather than out of compulsion.

However, rather than rely on God and comply to His will, we prefer to do our own things, to walk our own way.  Here’s a quote showing how prophet Isaiah describes the human condition:  “All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way.”

Yet there is still an inner war in each of us humans.  As we seek to follow our own will, God calls us and woos us to surrender to and follow His will.  Jesus describes the only way to peace in the war of the wills:  “Deny yourself, take up your cross (die to your will) and follow Me.”  And then as he faced execution on the cross, Christ lived his own words and prayed:  “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.”

You have a will and so does God. So do you impose your will on God? Or do you surrender to His will and daily follow and obey Jesus?

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in alternative lifestyle, answer to God, apart from me you can do nothing, belief, belief system, Bible, choice, Christ, Christ-centered, Christian, compliance, compulsion, conviction, conviction of sin, corrupt culture, cravings, deciision making, devotion, disciple making, discipline, discipling, faithfulness, free will, freedom, God, God's authority, God's government, God-shaped vacuum, hearing God, hearing Jesus, How Evil Works, human nature, inward change, Jesus, Jesus Christ, kingdom of God, lifestyle Christianity, lifestyles, power of the cross, prophet, Quotations, quote, Quotes, recovery, religion, repent, repentance, right and wrong, right conduct, right living, self-denial, self-will, spiritual combat, spiritual warfare, surrender to God, the cross, trust, we have turned everyone to his own way and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to War Of The Wills

  1. Pingback: Everyday Olympics — The Call To Glory For Regular People | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  2. Pingback: There’s No Right To Choose In Christianity | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  3. Donna Eden says:

    God does give us a choice, doesn’t He? From doing my will for the majority of my life, experience has taught me that God’s will is much much better. He loves us all and He wants the best for us. I could say that I lost out on God’s best for me, and I have. But He has helped me to learn from my experiences, as I let him teach me to learn from them. His love is unconditional. He carried me for many years and He still carries me. Doing His will makes living this life alot easier for me, because as I pray and ask for understanding, wisdom, knowledge; and then open my Bible and read His WORD, He gives me instructions. I Love searching for His will and receiving instructions from him. Today’s message was awesome. I’m excited to see what will unfold as the days go by.

Leave a Reply

