Life’s Biggest Problem? Self!

Life’s biggest difficulty isn’t overcoming negative circumstances.  It is getting free from bondage to self.  Self-interest, self-promotion, self-fulfillment, self-esteem, self-protection — these things get in our way and hold us in bondage to the torment of our own thoughts, feelings, opinions, and insecurities.

Self has a meter and like a thermometer it is always measuring our personal comfort level.  How happy am I now?  How satisfied, fulfilled, pleased, and/or worthy am I?

The only problem with our self-a-meter is that it never rates us high enough for long-term happiness and contentment.  Even by our own self-measurements we don’t make the grade.

So what can we do about our dissatisfied self?  Deny it!  (Self-focus will never make you happy.)  Forget about self and instead focus your life on something else — a purpose, a cause, other people’s needs, and God.

If you have the courage to do that, an amazing thing will happen.  Peace, joy, love, and a flood of other fulfilling emotions will overflow you.  It’s a proven fact, people are happiest when they get their mind and emotions off of self and intently focused on something else.

Is this new information.? Not by any means.  Jesus said it 2,000 years ago:  “Deny yourself, take up your cross (electric chair), and follow me.”

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in anxious thoughts, brain chemistry, brokenness, Christian values, Christianity, comfort, crucified with Christ, denial, feelings, followers of Christ, harmful habit, harmful thinking, immaturity, ineffectiveness, inner peace, Jesus Christ, lifestyles, making decisions, morality, obedience, obeying orders, personal pleasure, philosophy, right conduct, right living, self, self-control, self-denial, self-destruction, self-discipline, self-esteem, self-help, self-image, self-produced, self-will, Spirit-led, spiritual disciplines, spiritual formation, surrender, surrender to God, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Life’s Biggest Problem? Self!

  1. sherwood8028 says:

    Turn to Galatians 2:20, join yourself with the Apostle Paul and recall, “I have been crucified with Christ, and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me, and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and delivered Himself for me.” I did not even know of this verse on May 12, 1975, but I knew that I knew I had been touched by God. With that I chose to live by faith in God, alone, with Christ as my teacher. I had never been able to read the Bible, much less study it, but now I was not only reading it, but eager to dig deeper, to insure myself that I was not going astray. These were the most fascinating days of my life, but it meant that many of my old friends began to disappear and at times, it was as if I was completely alone. Then, I would come upon a verse I had never understood and behold, a new and actually exciting understanding. I have never looked back and my life has become – as Peter writes, “joy inexpressible and full of glory”. Self is no longer a problem and I heartily recommend this new life as the ultimate answer to all of the problems of this day.

  2. Pingback: The “Forgive Yourself” Myth | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  3. Pingback: The “Forgive Yourself” Myth | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: Watching Your “Old Man” Die | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  5. Pingback: How To Surf Brainwaves To Hope, Health, & Happiness | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  6. Pingback: Tattoos, Texting, Talk Radio, Polls, Piercings, Social Media, Reality TV & Other Self-Expression | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

