My 21st Century Psalm (King David Style)

I recently attended a prayer and fasting retreat sponsored by the Kentucky and Tennessee Division of The Salvation Army and was challenged to write a psalm.  So I did.  Here it is:

Psalm of Steve #1

Nothing comes from nothing,

There’s always a cause,

Always a maker of some kind.

Thank You, Maker of Maker of Heaven & Earth,

For making me.

Thank You, God, for a mind to think,

And for a heart to know You.

Thank You, my Creator,

For the perception of Your Presence,

For saving me from my self-deception,

Pride independence, and bondage to sin.

Thank You, Dear Jesus, My Maker made man,

For changing my life

And giving me forgiveness, peace, joy, and love.

Your salvation still applies in the 21st Century!

Lord, my life now cries;

“You can meet your Maker, not as religion or myth,

But as a life-long friend whose love for you never fails!”

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in belief system, Bible, burning heart, Christ, Christ-centered, Christian, confession of sin, conviction of sin, creation, creationism, Creator, creeds, deliverance, devotion, faith-based, fire of the Holy Spirit, forgiveness, gratitude, insight, inspiration, Jesus, Jesus Christ, joy, lifestyles, live to please God, makes change, mysticism, new birth, praise and worship, prayer, revelation, Scriptures, spirit, Spirit-filled, spiritual, spiritual formation, spiritual growth, surrender to God, testimony, thanksgiving, Thanksgiving Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 21st Century Psalm (King David Style)

  1. Pingback: A Haircut From Oprah’s Dad . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

