The “I’ll Fight” Black Hoodie

"I'll Fight" hoodie

As a white guy passing out flyers in a black neighborhood (Nashville’s McFerrin Park Neighborhood that has been known for drugs and violence) after the verdict of the George Zimmerman trial, I thought about Trayvon Martin.  As I put flyers on people’s doors, about a Viktory (Christian rap artist) concert coming to The Salvation Army Berry Street; I thought about how no one followed me, suspected me of wrong doing, harassed me, or was even unkind to me. In fact, everybody I saw was very friendly and open to me. Would the reverse be true?

Someone asked me if I was wearing a hoodie.  But it was over 90 degrees and I was soaked in sweat.

However, that question reminded me about my “I’ll Fight” hoodie. It features The Salvation Army “Blood & Fire” Crest on the left-hand side and this aggressive quote by William Booth on the right-hand side:

“While women weep, as they do now, I’ll fight. While little children go hungry, as they do now, I’ll fight. While men go to prison, in and out, in and out, as they do now, I’ll fight. While there is a drunkard left, while there is a poor lost girl upon the streets, while there remains one dark soul without the light of God, I’ll fight — I’ll fight to the very end!”

Salvation Army Crest

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in Blood and Fire, Christian rap, drugs, hungry children, I'll fight!, Nashville, Nashville adventure, Nashville events, Nashville streets, prison, prisons, quotation, Quotations, quote, Quotes, racial reconciliation, racism, Salvation Army, Salvation Army church, Salvation Army Corps, Salvation Army Crest, spiritual warfare, streets, trial, Viktory, violence, violence in society, violent streak, While women weep, William Booth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The “I’ll Fight” Black Hoodie

  1. YES! YES! YES! I’M WITH YOU STEVE!!!! I GO HOME TOMORROW!!@! I’M GONNA HAVE TO CHARGE MY BATTERY! I’M READY!!!

  2. I like your your site very much! It is nice to know we are all Sisters and Brothers in Christ! I cannot help what color my skin is but I have Jesus and God’s Holy Spirit in my heart plus lots of Love to give others! I mourn over the murder of Ytayvon Martin

    • I am sorry but it is hard to write on my cell phone! I meant I grieve over the murder of Trayvon Martin as I do for my own son’s murder that never even went to trial! I am praying for God to show me his will for me now also. My husband abandoned me and I have been praying for 8 months for God to help me and show me what to do and where to go from here!

      • Steve Simms says:

        Thanks for your comments, RuthAnn. So sorry to hear about your pain. As we allow God to comfort and heal us in our pain, he prepares us to comfort others in their pain.

  3. Pingback: The Real Royal Baby . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

