Spirit-Prompted Words Are Better Than Any Teleprompter!

Spirit-prompted words are better than any teleprompter!  Politicians, public speakers, and even some preachers use teleprompters. However, as Christ-followers, we have something far superior to a teleprompter.

We have the inner prompting of the Holy Spirit that will release words through us, directly from God, as we speak. The Bible puts it this way: “Open your mouth and I will fill it.” Perhaps, if we relied more on the Spirit’s prompting and less on our on planning and thinking, we wouldn’t be so intimidated about speaking up about Jesus.

If you feel prompted to do something and you don’t want to do it, then you know that prompting isn’t you. If the prompting agrees with Scripture and is morally right and isn’t destructive or harmful, then you know that prompting isn’t from the devil or an evil source. Therefore it most likely is from God. So step out and obey it, even if you are scared. The presence and power of God that is manifested through your obedience will demonstrate that the prompting was truly from God.

Here is an example of a prompting from God (see previous for more about promptings):  Recently, I was in a large Salvation Army officers meeting and someone was asking people to come to the front and pray. I felt a prompting to go forward, but I didn’t want to do it. However, after a couple of minutes, I gave in, went forward, and knelt in prayer. In a moment someone knelt beside me and put his arm around me. I open my eyes and it was a friend. He said: “God was telling me to come forward, but I didn’t want to do it, so I said, ‘Lord, if this is really you, have Steve Simms go forward,’ and then you did!”

If I hadn’t obeyed, my friend wouldn’t have obeyed and both of our hearts would be a bit more resistant to God today. It is so important that we believers in the 21st Century begin to obey God’s promptings! Nothing less with reach this generation!

You’ll experience life-transforming power if you use spiritual wifi to login to the Holy Spirit’s network and follow His instructions!  When truth is denied inside, you’ve lied to yourself; and self-deception drops your God reception.  Until you know God inside, you won’t be fully satisfied!

We think of surrendering to the Holy Spirit as an individual thing, but perhaps it is also something that we need to do when we meet together as a church. Perhaps we need to yield our program and our agenda to the Spirit and let Him personally direct the meeting according to His plan and program instead of ours.

We think that church is supposed to be focused on a solitary preacher, however, Jesus said: “Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches.” Are we quenching the Spirit or are we letting Him speak?

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in church, he that has ears, hearing the Holy Spirit, inner coach, inner Light, inner prompting, inner teacher, listening prayer, listening skills, listening to God, listening to the Spirit, Open your mouth and I will fill it, organic church, Quench not the Spirit, quench the Spirit, quenching the Spirit, Salvation Army, teleprompter, wifi, witness of the Spirit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spirit-Prompted Words Are Better Than Any Teleprompter!

  1. Robin Swieringa says:

    You’re comparing situational apples and oranges when you put down people who use teleprompters to ensure the say what they intend to say when public speaking vis a vis the HS prompting two people to act. No need to put down the former to make your point…

    • Steve Simms says:

      I reread my post, Robin, and I don’t seen any put down of people for using teleprompters. I sure didn’t intend any put down. I think flying is a far superior method of transportation than walking, but I still love walking and admire people who get off the couch and do it and in no way would put people down for walking. In the same way, I hold to my statement that “as Christ-followers, we have something far superior to a teleprompter.” As nice as a teleprompter is, words given directly by the Spirit are better!

  2. Pingback: Participatory Pentecost | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  3. Pingback: We Don’t Have To Just Watch Church — We Can Do Church! | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: Some Keys To Releasing God’s Power (From Acts Chapter Two) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  5. Pingback: Church Desperately Needs The Energy Of The Holy Spirit’s Synergy | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  6. Pingback: Bible Quotes ‘Bout Organic Church | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

