Things That Stir My Soul

Here are some things that stir my soul to sense the spiritual reality that surrounds us — that create a sense of awe in my heart.  These things motivate me, inspire me, and help me be aware of the reality of God:

* Getting surrounded by nature and observing the beauty of woods, hills, the ocean, a starry sky, a sunset, flowers, a rainbow, squirrels, etc.

* Holding a baby; interacting with small children.

* Hearing someone openly and passionately share the concerns of his/her heart.

* Movies that move me, such as: Brother Sun, Sister Moon; Gandhi; It’s A Wonderful Life; Les Miserables; Shenandoah; Amazing Grace (the William Wilberforce story); and The Cross: The Arthur Blessett Story.

* Participating in passionate praise and worship of God.

* Reading books that connect with me deeply, such as: biographies of inspirational people, stories of personal and spiritual growth, the classics of Christian spirituality, history of spiritual revivals and/or social justice; and my two favorite books: the Bible and the Philokalia.

* Music, especially songs with a passionate message, like, To Dream The Impossible Dream.

* Watching the Holy Spirit actually take over a meeting and manifest His Presence as people are moved to publicly share what God is doing in their lives.

* Helping somebody. Getting my mind off of myself and my needs and focusing on the needs and concerns of others.

* Writing and expressing the creativity that stirs within me.

* Reading and collecting uplifting quotes and quotations.

* Seeing other people experience personal and spiritual breakthroughs.

* Soul stirring speeches. Although they are not very common, I’ve heard a few, including several by Martin Luther King, Jr.

So, what stirs your soul?

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in apologists, Bible, biography, books, Civil Rights, Creator, God, history, life, lifestyles, music, mysticism, organic church, prayer, Quotations, Quotes, self-help, social justice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things That Stir My Soul

  1. Pingback: Modern Myth #9 — All Religions Are Equal | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  2. Pingback: There’s A You In You | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

