Actor, former Senator, Fred Thompson’s Response To My Book

I ran into former Senator Fred Thompson in the airport in Washington, DC once. I handed him a copy of my book: Your Sperm Won–Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. I said: “Senator Thompson, I’d like to give you a book I wrote. It is about self-esteem and about how difficult it is for everybody in America but senators and actors to feel good about themselves.”

Mr. Thompson gazed at me for a moment with a dramatic look on his face.  Then he said in his actor voice: “Even they have trouble with that.”

Wow! It is not easy to feel good about yourself. Even Senators and actors have trouble doing it.

But it can be done! You can feel good about being you! It is hard work. Most of us tend to try to fill our need for self-esteem with money, activity, popularity, drugs, music, noise, sports, and on and on. But until you like you; until you like yourself. Nothing else will give you peace.

But how can we like ourselves when we, deep down, know we are not what we should be? God’s grace! God’s love! God’s mercy! God’s forgiveness! God’s strength.

your sperm won

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in American Literature, biography, books, change, drugs, Fred Thompson, history, life, lifestyles, meaning, mind, recovery, self-esteem, self-help, self-image, speech making, thinking, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

