Top 10 Ways God Demonstrates His Reality

God is not a theory but a demonstrable reality.  This is not just my thinking.  Paul of Tarsus said;  “My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on man’s wisdom, but on God’s power.”  (I Corinthians 2:4)  God is demonstrated in various ways:

1)  God demonstrates Himself through miracles and answered prayer.  I have personally seen far too many miracles and answered prayers to be coincidental.  If you pray and honestly observe the results, I think you, too, will be convinced by God’s demonstration of His power and love.  Here’s a link to a news story about a medical doctor in Cleveland, Ohio who prays for sick people and sees many amazing miracles happen:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFlxmWHZCnc

2)  God demonstrates Himself through the unlikely happenings in day-to-day life.  We’ve all experienced what are commonly known as coincidences — for example, when you are thinking about someone and right at that moment, he/she calls or texts you.  If you observe your life, you will notice that amazing and unusual things happen for you, way beyond any statistical likelihood.  For 40 years, I have been on God’s reading program.  Almost every time I go to a book store, I stumble upon a book that deeply moves me and transforms my thinking.

3)  God demonstrates Himself through the witness of the Spirit.  The Old Testament puts it this way:  “Be still and know that I am God.”  When get still and quiet, God talks to them.  There is an inner witness and awareness of His awesome reality!

4)  God demonstrates Himself through the act of praying.  When I begin to pray spontaneously, something stirs in my heart.  Words rise up from deep within me and flow off my tongue.  Sometimes when I pray for a stranger, I feel an amazing love for her/him.  I don’t even know the person, so I know that the love is not from me.  It is a demonstration of the reality of God.

5)  God demonstrates Himself through the example of godly people.  I know and have known people who live in such a way that leaves me no doubt that the supernatural power of God is flowing through them.

6)  God demonstrates Himself through the natural world.  We are surrounded by miracles — living organisms so complex that the brightest human intellects cannot completely comprehend how they function.  No human can fully account for the marvels of life on this planet from a purely materialistic point of view.

7)  God demonstrates Himself through lives transformed by the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  In the past two thousand years, billions of human beings have been changed and set free by the blood of Jesus.  In spite of being from various, unrelated cultures and nations around the world, the amazing similarity of their stories demonstrate that their transformation was not just a subjective experience, but an encounter with the living God.

8)  God demonstrates Himself through the Bible.  Reading the New Testament has revealed the reality of God to multitudes!

9)  God demonstrates Himself through dreams, visions, and gifts of the Holy Spirit.  A woman I know was tortured in Saddam Hussein’s prison for 9 months.  In desperation this Muslim woman cried out for God to show himself to her.  When she opened her eyes, she saw Jesus Christ standing in front of her.  The next morning she was miraculously released.

10)  God demonstrates Himself through actively leading a church meeting.  When a church gathers without a human leader in control, God will personally lead the meeting by inspiring those present to share testimonies, Scriptures, prayers, gifts of the Spirit, encouragement, teaching, etc.  An open meeting which would naturally lead to chaos, instead comes together in beautiful ways, demonstrating the leadership of God’s Spirit.

If you would like to see God demonstrate Himself to a group of people, there is a church in Nashville that gathers like this weekly — The Salvation Army Berry Street Worship Center — Sundays at 10:45, 225 Berry St., Nashville, 37207.

NO WAY!

NO WAY!

Why not let God demonstrate Himself to you?

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in God winks, I Corinthians 2:4, miracles, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 10 Ways God Demonstrates His Reality

  1. sherwood8028 says:

    There Is a problem with – God. Most folks, many Christians in fact, have a concept that God is an old man waiting to “get” them if they do wrong. He is – in current lingo, the Man! And worse, he appears to be the One who denies even their most urgent requests.

    The problem seems to me, one that arise when some confuse Jewish theology with Christianity.

    Our world may have had its inception with the advent of Adam and Eve, but the Christian’s life began with their understanding that – “I have been crucified with Christ…. I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.” (Galatians 2:28)

    I lived for almost 45 years – in church. A believer that the preacher knrew more than I would ever know about God, so I let that govern my life. Then, a crisis arose in my life and I tutned to the God of the preachers and discovered, God was not only real, but He led me to put my trust in His Son, in particular – at that time, and His victory over sin at Calvary. I was redeemed by that blood.

    And since that very event filled day, Christ has become my ever present teacher of all things pertiment to life and always, my friend indeed and in the midst of my every need.

    And since, He and the Father are one, I live, respectful of the Father, put I share the problems of the day with His Son.

  2. Pingback: Hereeeeeeee’s Jesus! | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  3. Pingback: What Saved My Infant Daughter’s Life? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

