2 Ways Of Having Church (One Widespread & The Other Very Rare)

There are thousands of brands of Christianity (called denominations).  However, if you look closer at all the denominational and non-denominational churches in the world, there are really only two ways of having church:  1) Spectative church & 2) Interactive church.

Spectative church is widespread.  It is a passive form of church where people sit and watch a professional do religious things, unless they are told by the professional (or a bulletin) to stand or sit or say something.  It is highly programmed and human led (usually by one man & a helper or two).

The other type of church, interactive church, is very rare (especially in the Western world, however, it is common in China and other places where the church is underground).  In this form of church people are given the freedom to directly interact with one another and with God as they are led by the Holy Spirit.  It is based on the only Scripture in the New Testament that tells us how to hold a church meeting:  I Corinthians 14:26.

To experience interactive church is an amazing thing.  See for yourself by visiting The Salvation Army Berry Street, an interactive church in Nashville, TN — 225 Berry St., 37207, on Sundays at 10:45 am. & Thursdays at 6:30 pm.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in Berry Street, Berry Street Worship Center, Bible, Biblical concept, brands, China, Chinese, Christ-centered, Christian, Christian community, Christianity, church, church history, church roles, church structure, denominations, East Nashville, Holy Spirit, Music City, Nashville, organic church, relational church, religion, religious ceremonies, simple church, spiritual formation, The Salvation Army and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2 Ways Of Having Church (One Widespread & The Other Very Rare)

  1. Pingback: New Poll Shows More Millennials Doubt God | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  2. I have this gut feeling that the Holy spirit is leading me and guiding me towards the interactive. I sincerely have visions of this. I am so grateful that you came into my life at such a time as this. It’s part of my spiritual formation. Please feel free to share your blogs on my Page, Spiritual Formation. Right now I am the sole administrator, Not complaining, it was a divine assignment from God. I lost my voice for a year and the devil thought he could stop me from sharing the Word of God, and that’s when I started the Page, ordained by God, and led by his Spirit. He won’t let me stop and I can’t stop. It’s my life!!

    I’ve had a dream to start a ministry in my home, but somehow the devil keeps interfering. Though I may feel a little defeat sometimes, I still stand, and I’m still pressing on. God is preparing me. It will happen. I believe the Holy Spirit is in all of us and should be shared and allowed to grow. The church, sometimes, will stunt your growth.

    Love and peace be multiplied to you!!

  3. Pingback: Alternative Names For Organic Church | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  4. Pingback: Lifestyle (Real World) Christianity | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  5. Pingback: From Hinduism to Jesus Christ | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  6. Pingback: Aiming For Your Heart | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

  7. Pingback: Write Your Wrongs & Move On In Peace (A Message Of The Christmas Season) | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

