It’s Not Hard To Have Fun

I have never had a difficult time having fun.  I don’t need expensive concerts, costly sporting events, fancy restaurants, lively parties, alcohol, drugs, or other outward things to make me enjoy my life.  I just do — enjoy it.  Although I am a serious person, I enjoy being silly.

My wife and I just returned from a short, but incredibly fun, getaway with a Kiwi friend couple (Nicky and Grant from New Zealand).  We spent three nights in a small cabin near the top of Town Mountain in Asheville, North Carolina.  (I can’t resist this opportunity to be like Rick Steves on PBS.)

We drove through Cherokee and then over Newfound Gap in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park.  Nicky snapped this picture as we first entered the park:

A friendly elk.

An elk greets us as we enter the Great Smoky Mountain National Park from Cherokee, NC.

Then we went to Dollywood and enjoyed some shows and rides, including lunch at Miss Lillian’s:

My wife, Ernie, and I are “flapping our wings” for Miss Lillian, the chicken lady at Dollywood.

The next day we visited Biltmore.  Someone said that I should lean over and do the pose from the movie Titanic.  So I did:

Doing the Titanic pose at Biltmore.

Someone had told us about the Red Rocker Inn in Black Mountain, North Carolina, so we headed off and found it.  The food was so good that it will knock you off your rocker.

Ernie and me enjoying ourselves after an amazing meal at the Red Rocker Inn.

I hope you have an enjoyable day.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in adventure, alcohol, blessings, celebrations, Cherokee, choice, comedians, comedy, current condition, elk, entertainment, environment, free spirit, freedom, fun, happy, holiday, holidays, improv, improvisation, inner peace, joy, Kiwi, life, lifestyles, New Zealand, Newfound Gap, North Carolina, party, partying, PBS, philosophy, positive thinking, Rick Steves, show and tell, sporting event, sports, Town Mountain and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Not Hard To Have Fun

  1. Pingback: The Simple Path To Peace (And Joy And Success) In Life | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

