4 Days With The Monks @ The Abbey Of Gethsemani

Words I wrote last night in a monastery:
I’m sitting in a monk’s room (I think they call it a cell,) that’s been mine for my 4 night visit to the Abbey of Gethsemani in Kentucky. There’s no TV, no internet, and no entertainment; just time to pause and listen to God. And, oh yeah, worship with the monks. Yet somehow I’m content, peaceful, relaxed. It’s great to be in a place where the beliefs and values that I hold dear are not being continually trampled and violated — where I’m not having to constantly guard my eyes, my ears, and my mind. Tomorrow I leave the real world of humble spirituality and hunger for God and return to the mythical muck of mindless sensuality and constant consumerism. But I go as a spiritual warrior, determined to stay real and honest and full of God’s presence, in a world that will one day pass away.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Kentucky, Kentucky tourism, monasticism, religion, religious ceremonies, religious relic, religious tradition, spiritual, spiritual formation, Trappist and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4 Days With The Monks @ The Abbey Of Gethsemani

  1. WOW Steve! That sounds like an exciting experience!!! Hope to hear some about it when I see you.

Leave a Reply

