Salvation Army Flag Prayer Walk Report — Nashville’s McFerrin Park Neighborhood

* A Morning Flag-Prayer-Walk In East Nashville’s Mcferrin Park Neighborhood Today! *

I left The Salvation Army Berry Street Worship Center walking on Meridian Street and a guy named, Crump (a 60-something man holding a jar 1/2 full of beer), asked about the flag. I got to tell him about the blood of Jesus and fire of the Spirit as well as about our corps. He said that in the summer he gets vegetables out of our free community garden. I was able to laugh with him, witness to him and pray with him. Then he very kindly and warmly sent me on my way.

A little further down Meridian two guys in a car slowed down and rolled down the window. The driver said something like: “What’s up?” I told Him about Jesus’ blood and the Spirit’s fire and while I was talking and holding the flag in the wind, he took my picture. They were both smiling as they drove off and I wished them a great day.

Next I saw 5 firemen standing in front of the firehouse at Meridian & Cleveland streets. I walked up and told them about the flag & the blood of Jesus. They pointed to one guy and said that he really needs it. So I got to start a conversation about how we are all need God’s forgiveness. I also got to invite them to Berry Street. It was a very uplifting time of interacting with those guys. And I thanked them for protecting our building.

I walked on to Dickerson Road and a guy was standing behind a run-down convenience market. He kept watching me. I tried to ignore him, but the Spirit nudged me to go talk with him. I shared with Robert about Jesus’ blood & fire, but he was too drunk to understand much. So I put my hand on his shoulder and began to pray for him. When I said: “And Lord, get him drunk on the Holy Spirit,” his whole body jerked and he began to walk away.

A bit further down Dickerson, a woman named Candy asked me about the flag. I got to tell her about it and pray with her. She is from Mexico and told me that she is a Pentecostal. She was very grateful for the prayer.

As I was almost back to Berry Street, a truck pulled over with two guys that I know. One of them is moving to Orland and I didn’t think I was going to get to see him before he left, so I was grateful for the opportunity to tell him by and wish him God’s best. They were the only two people I spoke with today who weren’t strangers to me.

If you are bored and looking for something to spice up your life, take up the Blood & Fire Spiritual Warfare Flag and go for a prayer walk! The results will amaze you.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Berry Street, Cleveland Street, fire station, firemen, McFerrin Park, Meridian Street, Nashville adventure, Nashville charity, Nashville church, outreach, outreach ministry, prayer without ceasing, prayers, praying, praying in the Spirit, religion, Salvation Army church, Salvation Army Corps, spiritual warfare, The Salvation Flag, witness, witnesses and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

