Christ-Connections Create Community

Thank God for Christ-connections with other people!

As a child and teenager, I felt very distant and isolated from others. I really didn’t know how to connect with or relate to other people very well. I had one friend in high school and a lot of acquaintances, but I felt mostly alone.

Then at age 19, when I was in college, I went to an informal Christian meeting in my dorm and encountered the living, resurrected Jesus Christ. My inner-self was transformed and flooded with spiritual understanding.

I began to regularly attend that meeting which was based on open sharing and testimonies. I got to know those people and discovered that the Christ in me, connected automatically (and without effort) with the Christ in them. They quickly became my some of my best friends ever.

Since then, every time I meet someone who carries the living Christ in her/his heart, there is an instant connection — a spiritual witness. Spiritual kinship is such a beautiful thing. I am so thankful to be part of the living body of Christ and for my brothers and sisters in Him!

Of course, the greatest Christ-connection is with Jesus, Himself!  Connecting with Christ isn’t a feeling, an emotion, a religion, or a doctrine. It’s an encounter with fire burning in your heart! It’s the release of mighty rivers from deep within you! It’s a rush of peace and joy! It’s a lifetime of spiritual intimacy with the lover of your soul!

I believe that church is about making and nurturing Christ-connections — not just about hearing a Bible lesson.  I have been blessed to be a part of a group of believers where, rather than a one-man sermon, everyday people show and tell what God has done.  It is called The Salvation Army Berry Street.  Come and visit us sometime at 225 Berry St., Nashville, TN, 37207 on Sunday mornings @ 10:45.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Christ bearer, Christ followers, Christ in people, Christ in you, Christ's presence, Christ-centered, how to connect with people, lover of your soul, Music City, Nashville, networking, Salvation Army, Salvation Army Nashville, spiritual connections, spiritual relationships, spirituality, witness of the Spirit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christ-Connections Create Community

  1. Pingback: A Sonny Heart Won’t Get Hacked Like Sony Did! | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (Steve Simms Blogs From Nashville)

Leave a Reply

