Harping On & On About Participatory Church

Harping On!
Why do I harp on and on about participatory church?
–Because I experience the life-transforming music that comes forth when the Hand of God is allowed to play all the strings in a church meeting (not just one string).
–Since I first heard it as a freshman in college in 1970, this mighty melody, of God prompting everyday people to participate, has played in my soul, and I long for everyone to hear the magnificent music of mutual ministry moved by the living God.

harp

Immediately after posting the above on Facebook, I came across this quote from Salvation Army founder, General William Booth:

“We leave to others the unscriptural, and uncomfortable, and inhuman modesty of expecting and aiming at small things. We will be extravagant, we will open our mouths wide, we will nail our colors to the mast, and break down our bridges, and burn our boats. We care nothing for a retreat. We need none.” —William Booth, October, 1879  (So at the General’s exhortation, I will continue to open my mouth wide and harp on.)

I also got a surprise confirmation of participatory church from a gift Bible!
–The Salvation Army sent me a copy of “The Voice” translation of the Bible as a Christmas present. Since then I have been reading in it every night.
–About an hour after posting about “why I harp on and on about participatory church” on Facebook, I picked up “The Voice” and began to read where I ended the night before in Mark 6. After reading the story of Jesus feeding the 5,000, the translators had inserted some comments and there I read these words:
–“He (Jesus) wants to make them (His disciples) part of His miracles. From recorders and observers, they will become participants.”

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in gift Bibles, harp music, miracles, priesthood of the believer, Quotes, Salvation Army, The Voice Bible, The Voice translation, translators and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harping On & On About Participatory Church

  1. Pingback: Me, Celebrities N Church, & Judgement . . . | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

  2. Pingback: Can Church Make Meetings Work Better? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

  3. Pingback: Does Church Need The Energizer Bunny (Or The Risen Christ)? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

  4. Pingback: The Business of Busyness — Running the Rat Race? Or Flowing in the Spirit? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

  5. This Sunday night i am going to hand out Bible verses on slips of paper, under the Bible verse is a question to stimulate the person reading it to give their personal testimony on How The Holy Spirit works in their life. I’ll let you know how it goes. This is my post with details: https://tombeetlebailey.wordpress.com/2015/10/28/holy-spirit-lead-meeting/

Leave a Reply

