Dirt Writer, Adultery, & Getting Stoned

Dirt Writer, Adultery, & Getting Stoned

–Jesus writing in the dirt . . .
I just experienced the Holy Spirit as teacher. I picked up my Bible to do my daily reading. I read 5 verses and then was captivated by something in the 6th verse of John 8: “Jesus bent down and started to write on the ground with His finger.” And for the first time in 45 years of regular Bible reading I realized that what He wrote wasn’t important enough to be included in the Bible, so the important thing must be the fact that He bent over and marked in the dirt. But why did He do that?
–A woman had just been dragged in front of Him who some people had caught in the act of adultery. He was told that Moses’ law says to stone such a woman to death and then asked what He thought about it.
–So, in such a crisis, why would Jesus bend over and write in the dirt words that weren’t important enough for Scripture at such an important moment? Surely, as God in the flesh, He could have immediately come up with some nice words to say.
–His simple action did several things: 1) It gave Him time to listen to God; 2) He disarmed the anger by responding in humility; 3) He distracted the crowds’ attention from the situation; 4) He made people curious about what He was doing; 5) He broke eye contact with the crowd; 6) He allowed time for God to work by shifting the atmosphere of the moment from intellectual questioning to the working of the Holy Spirit.
–After writing a bit, Jesus stood up and said the famous words: “Let him who is without sin cast the first stone.” Then He bent over and wrote some more.
–I felt like God told me to stand up and then bend over and pretend to write on the floor. So I did. In that position just about all I could see was the floor. I would have been very vulnerable to people who were trying to trick me. However, I could have seen people’s feet walking away.
–And the people did walk away from Jesus until only the woman and Jesus remained. Even His disciples drifted away. After He saw all those feet walk away, Jesus looked up at the woman and spoke to her (implying that He was still bent over writing while he was talking to her). He sent her away forgiven with the commission to go and sin no more.
–I think that I need to write in the dirt more — to humbly bend; to not try to immediately fix a situation with my own words; and to allow the Holy Spirit the time and the freedom to work while I scratch away.

Read more in my book: Beyond Church — An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible,  available at Amazon.

161

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Bible teaching, Christ writing in dirt, dirt writer, Holy Spirit teaches, humility, Jesus Christ, Quotes, stoning, what did Jesus write in the dirt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dirt Writer, Adultery, & Getting Stoned

  1. David Harper says:

    Excellent word Steve, never heard it from that point of view literally but believe this is Holy Spirit inspired. Hope to see u soon bro!

  2. Dennis Brown says:

    Steve, good article. When one is exposed to an oral society which has an intimate knowledge of the scriptures, one realizes that the first question that would have been asked by those people is “where is the man”? The law demands that both the man and woman were to be stoned. All Jesus had to write is one simple phrase, “where is the man” and it makes his verbal question even more powerful, “he who is without sin…”.

  3. Pingback: Christianity — More of the living Christ and less of the “ianity” | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

Leave a Reply

