Nashville Pedestrian Bridge Flag Adventure

It has come to me several times the past couple of weeks for my wife, Ernie, and me to take The Salvation Army Flag on to the pedestrian overpass on Ellington Parkway just north of downtown Nashville during morning rush hour traffic and wave at the people passing under us into town.  It sounded like a crazy idea to me so I resisted it the first couple of times. Finally I mentioned it to my wife and she was ready to do it with me. So we planned to do it this morning (Monday, April 20, 2015).

When we woke up it was overcast with “scattered showers” so I suggested that we wait until another morning, but Ernie was ready to go. So we did. As we were walking up the Ellington Parkway walkover, we passed over a very long train parked on the tracks below us.

When we arrived over the incoming lanes of Ellington Parkway we held up the flag and began to wave at people and to pray for God’s presence to fall on them.  Ernie said, “Somebody’s going to honk at us.”  Immediately a car honked and waved back at us. At that very moment, the horn on the train sounded and it began to move toward Nashville.

025

Suddenly I remembered a vision that I had a few years ago.  In my mind’s eye I had seen a long train moving rapidly into Nashville and these words had come to me, “Revival is coming to Nashville like a train.

Ernie and I stood on that pedestrian bridge from 8:00 to 9:00 this morning waving and praying for the people passing us and for the city of Nashville the entire time. We felt God’s presence so strongly that the hour seemed like 15 minutes.  We were both incredibly blessed as many people waved back at us and gave us friendly honks.  I am so glad that we obeyed the Spirit’s prompting this morning.

So what does the flag mean?  The red represents the blood of Jesus; the yellow stands for the fire of the Holy Spirit; and the blue symbolizes a life of radical obedience to the living, resurrected Jesus Christ.

030

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in downtown Nashville, led by the Spirit, Music City, obeying the Spirit, pedestrian bridge, prayer, prophetic, Salvation Army Flag, spiritual awakening, witnessing in Nashville and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nashville Pedestrian Bridge Flag Adventure

  1. Way to go, my brother and sister in the faith! I know that God was pleased with your witness and will answer your prayers!

  2. Pingback: Veggie Cans, Church, & Christ In You | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

Leave a Reply

