The Best People R Bad — My Bad!

Even all the best people are bad people. My bad! I’m a bad person and so are you. Here are some quotes that show why:

“You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.” –John the Beloved quoting Jesus

“We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way; and the Lord has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.” –Prophet Isaiah

“For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwells no good thing.” –Paul of Tarsus

“What a wretched man I am!” –Paul of Tarsus

my bad

“There is no one righteous, not even one.” –Paul of Tarsus

“It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” –Jesus Christ

“Apart from Me you can do nothing.” –Jesus Christ

“When He (the Holy Spirit) comes, He will prove the world to be in the wrong about sin and righteousness and judgment.” –Jesus Christ

“You are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” –an angel

“If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” –John the Beloved

“All men alike stand condemned, not by alien codes of ethics, but by their own, and all men therefore are conscious of guilt.”  –C.S. Lewis

“Now is the hour we should humbly prostrate ourselves before God, willing to be convicted afresh of our sins by the Holy Spirit.” –Watchman Nee

“Let us stop the progress of sin in our soul at the first stage, for the farther it goes the faster it will increase.” –Thomas Fuller

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of the living God, have mercy on me, a sinner.” –Ancient prayer of Orthodox monks, known as “The Jesus Prayer” designed to be continually repeated day and night.

booth quote

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in apart from me you can do nothing, Bible quotes, C.S. Lewis, ethics, have mercy on me, iniquity, Isaiah 53, Jesus Christ, John the Beloved, Lord Jesus Christ, morality, not the healthy who need a doctor, Orthodox monks, Paul of Tarsus, Quotations, repentance, sinner, Son of the living God, Spirit conviction, there is none righteous, Thomas Fuller, Watchman Nee, wretched man that I am, you are poor wretched blind and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best People R Bad — My Bad!

  1. Pingback: Cool With The Culture? — Do It If You’re Like Felix / Don’t If You’re Like Paul! | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

  2. Pingback: When Does Love Win? | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

Leave a Reply

