A White Guy’s Thoughts After The Charleston Church Shooting

I’m a white guy who was a black preacher for about 3 years. (I was a pastor in the African-American denomination–the Church of God in Christ, but I never went as far as Rachel Dolezal and literally claimed to be black.) I’ve discovered a heart-bonding that is even stronger than family and far more powerful than color — it’s my deep inner connection with people who passionately love, follow, and obey the living, resurrected Jesus Christ! Wherever they are in this world, whatever they look like, whatever church they belong to (or don’t belong to), they are my brothers and sisters in Christ.
–The vicious attack on and murder of my innocent brothers and sisters at Emanuel AME Church in Charleston, South Carolina after they welcomed a stranger into their participatory Bible study and warmly listened to his comments, has grieved me deeply and brought me to tears several times.
–Yesterday I did a “Christian magic show” for about 25 black 6 & 7 year old children. They clapped, laughed at, and were inspired by my illusions, but I was so sad to know that they had heard (or would soon hear) about a real white man who murdered black Christians. I cried.
–My wife just asked me what I am writing. So I read it to her and cried all the way through it. “Weep with those who weep.” That’s not difficult for me to do. I wish I could do more to bring about healing in our nation. That’s one reason I write. I want this messed up world to know that that there is supernatural healing, forgiveness, and transformation thought the living Jesus.
–Natural eyes see offense and skin color. Spiritual eyes see wounded hearts who, like the prodigal son, need to abandon their hurt and dysfunction and to return to their Father’s love. There’s no other answer for violence, racism, insecurity, fear, deception, loneliness, addiction.
–This morning I learned about Marcus Stanley, a brother in Christ who (like me) was transformed by the living resurrected Jesus, and how he posted a message of love and forgiveness on the shooter’s Facebook page.
–Perhaps it is time to admit that human trafficking was just as evil in the 18th Century as it is in the 21st Century! That many of the famous founders of our nation were just as evil as present day human traffickers. The skin color of America’s Founding Fathers’ victims did not justify or excuse their crimes against humanity!
–All lives matter to God (and to me) — black/white, postnatal/prenatal, liberal/conservative, mean/nice, and any other dichotomy used to label the epitome of God’s creation–human beings!

018

Click here to read my post: “Why A White Guy Digs Into Black History:

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Christian magic show, Church of God in Christ, Emanuel AME, essay, facebook, Founding Fathers, healing racism, human trafficking, illusionists, Marcus Stanley, racial healing, slavery, white view of race and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A White Guy’s Thoughts After The Charleston Church Shooting

  1. Pingback: Marcus Stanley’s Christ-Like Response To The Charleston Church Murders | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

  2. Lorraine says:

    Thank u for your concerned about what has happen in black innocent people of God who have been oppressed by apartheid in the past. And who are still experiencing, even we try to move on&forgive, white nation they still see us as Baboon who needs to be reacted & killed. It is so sad that, this days in 2015 we are still experiencing the apartheid things, as black nation we have forget& forgave what we have experience in the past, but things like this when are happening we wonder if this will ever stop in the white nation. Black society we are raised to love one another no matter about the colour or racism of the person. We are also told to forgive and forget what has happened in the past&we have done that. That kid is very young to have this evil mind of killing black people in the church. I feel like the white parents are not doing enough to educate there kids to learn to love one another. I feel like they are instilling the hate&apartheid to there kids towards black nation. What more do they want from us. In most country’s we are still experiencing the apartheid, towards black. I just wonder. If this will ever stop? Or we need to act like them too. I pray that the love of God will stay with us all until Jesus comes back again in, Jesus name Amen. By: Lorraine Nzimande in South Africa, Durban

  3. Paula Jolly says:

    I found your blog post via Facebook/Homegrown Learners – I just wanted to leave a comment to thank you for sharing from your heart. I live in the suburbs of Memphis, TN: there are so many people here that only see color… I pray for racial healing for our entire country!

    Blessings to you & your family.

Leave a Reply

