What To Do When Culture Conflicts With The Bible

Bible reading

When I read the Bible, I encounter the living God and He speaks to me; comforts me; calls me, challenges me, inspires me, and strengthens me. I’ve read the Bible almost daily for 45 years and I stand by it as the Word of God. I know that many people don’t believe the Bible; even more don’t read it; and even more don’t obey it — but that’s their right and I respect them and will not harass or condemn anyone.

However, no one and/or no nation has the right to try to coerce or force me into violating my conscience and my desire to obey biblical principles and norms. My first loyalty is to the God of the Bible and His values. My second loyalty is to be kind and loving to others whether they agree with the Bible or not; even if my conscience will not allow me to approve of, participate in, or support some of their activities.

The Jesus Foundation never fails.
–When you humbly build your life on daily following and obeying the living, resurrected Jesus Christ and allowing His Spirit to freely flow in and through you, His supernatural Presence will hold you up, even when everything around you seems to be falling apart.

“Therefore I remind you that you stir up the gift of God, which is in you.’ –2 Timothy 1:6
–If we won’t get ourselves stirred up with passion to daily follow and obey the living, resurrected Jesus Christ now, when will we?

One way to get yourself stirred up is to read the Bible every day for at least 5 minutes. Try it for yourself for 21 days and see what happens in your life.  You will be amazed at the results. Check out 66 Books (That Everybody Needs To Read).

Just about everybody on the planet has a sense that some activities are morally wrong. Love doesn’t try to force people to support the activities that violate their conscience.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in 2 Timothy 1:6, a Christians loyalty, agree to disagree, Bible, Bible believing, Bible belt, Bible stories, Christians, civil disobedience, faithfulness to Christ, gay marriage, Here I stand, Quotes, same sex marriage, staying faithful to the Bible, stir up the gift, Supreme Court, the Bible says and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

