Testimonies, Salvation, #Boundless2015 & The Salvation Army’s 150 Anniversary!

boundless 2015

–More than 15,000 Salvationists (members of The Salvation Army) from about 126 countries met in London, United Kingdom, last week for an International Congress called Boundless 2015. The emphasis wasn’t on social services. The focus was on faithfulness to the living, resurrected Jesus Christ and on His calling to bring His “boundless salvation” to people around the world. Before we can lead others to salvation, we must know if we are saved.

People shared testimonies about how they were saved. Commissioner  Sylvia Cox put it this way: “Your personal testimony is your best story. So tell people how you met God.” 

boundless 2015

Here’s my salvation testimony: When I was a freshman in college, I walked into an informal campus fellowship. To my surprise I heard two different guys share how they had encountered Jesus, been set free from their sin, and been transformed by a passion to love, follow and obey Jesus. I had never heard anything like that before. As they shared I could see the living Jesus in them and I knew that they had something in their lives that I didn’t have. At the end of the meeting I prayed and surrendered my life to Jesus. That was 45 years ago and I have never been the same. I love Jesus with all my heart and the only thing I want to do in life is to follow and obey Him and to do my best to introduce other people to Him.

Do you have a salvation testimony? Can you tell how you met and were transformed by the living, resurrected Jesus? If not, Jesus is still knocking on your heart’s door and wanting to come into your life. All you have to do is to sincerely open your heat to Him and surrender your will to His. Then the living Jesus will enter you and begin to change you from the inside out.

If you do have a salvation testimony, why not write it down in a brief form of a few sentences? Then post it on your Facebook page. Or email it to friends. Or do like a friend of mine and print it out and then give it to people you meet during the day.

There’s power in testimony! If you would like to share your testimony with others, come one Sunday morning to The Salvation Army Berry Street, 225 Berry St., Nashville 37207 at 10:45 and we would love to give you the opportunity to briefly tell us how you got saved!

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in #Boundless2015, Berry Street, boundless salvation, Commissioner Sylvia Cox, congress, London, Nashville, religion, salvation testimonies, Salvationism, United Kingdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Testimonies, Salvation, #Boundless2015 & The Salvation Army’s 150 Anniversary!

  1. Pingback: Running For President / Running In The Salvation Army | Free Gas For Your Think Tank (A blog to jog your mind and unclog your heart . . .)

Leave a Reply

