The Burning Book (a smoking-hot read)

One day I picked up a book that I had previously found so boring I couldn’t even read it; but this time the words burned in my heart and I couldn’t put it down. It was smoking-hot! I literally read it for hours every day. And ever since then, I’ve read that book just about every day, because it still sets my heart on fire. It’s a burning book.

Bible on fire

As the book burned in my heart day after day, I gradually began to believe it — not because people told me it was the Word of God — but because it transformed my life. It filled me with passion for living; with joy; with love for all people; with a burning desire to turn away from doing wrong; and with a continual longing to follow and obey the living, resurrected Jesus Christ for the rest of my life.

But it’s not just me! I’ve seen this book burn in many other people’s hearts. They begin to read it and soon they can’t put it down and they are on fire with love for God. As the chaplain in an alcohol and drug rehab, I continually challenged the 80+ guys to read this book, the Bible, for 5 minutes a day for 21 days (without missing a day) and see if anything happened in their hearts. Every guy who stuck with it for 21 days told me that something powerful happened in his heart.

One guy was an atheist and he agreed to read the book for 5 minutes a day for 21 days just to prove to me that nothing would happen to him. Every few days he came by my office and said he was faithfully reading 5 minutes every day, but nothing was happening. I told him to keep reading. On the 20th day he let me know that it was still doing nothing for him. I told him he had one more day to read. He agreed.

The next day when I arrived this man met me at the front door. He was thrilled. He said: “When I read the Bible today, something happened in my heart and now I can’t stop reading it. He began to read the Bible for an hour or more everyday because the words burned in his heart. And He got on fire with love for the living Jesus.

The Bible’s like no other book; it sets humble human hearts on fire with the power of God. See for yourself!
–Don’t settle for reading the Bible with your mind as if it is a religious textbook. Instead read it daily with an open heart as a love letter from God to you, and before 21 days you will say: “My heart’s on fire for God!”
–“Did not our hearts burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the Scriptures?” –Two men who heard the living, resurrected Jesus talk to them. (Luke 24:32)

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Did not our hearts burn within, fire of God, hearts on fire, his words were like fire, Luke 24:32, Scriptures, spiritual fire and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Burning Book (a smoking-hot read)

  1. One day I was reading John chapter 1 and my heart got so happy. I thought I understood it suddenly, but it was the joy that began to swell inside that was so amazing. The burning book had set me on fire !

Leave a Reply

