Tag-Team-Blog #1 — When are you most aware of God’s presence?

Tag Team Blog

Someone suggested to me today that since my blog is frequently about participatory church, perhaps I could make it more participatory. I agree!

Of course people are always welcome to make comments on any post on my blog. However, in order to help people feel more invited to participate I am beginning a series of Tag-Team-Blog posts. Each one will contain a question. I will answer the question in the comments and I invite you to answer it in the comments as well. Also, you are welcome to respond to my answer and/or anybody else’s answer.

So let’s get going. The Tag-Team Blog #1 question is: When are you most aware of God’s presence?

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in blogging, experiencing God, Interactive blog, sharing, testimonies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tag-Team-Blog #1 — When are you most aware of God’s presence?

  1. Steve Simms says:

    I am most aware of God’s presence when:
    * I hear other people openly share from their heart about how God is working in their lives;
    * I’m walking in nature and observing the beauty and wonders around me;
    * I am spontaneously praying and sharing my heart with God;
    * I am passionately singing worship songs to God with other people;
    * I’m laying in bed and listening to the Holy Spirit.
    * I’m reading the Bible and the words are burning in my heart.

  2. I am most awatr of God’s presence when I hear Him speak to me, in expression of worship of saints, in new melodies and new words in psalmistry or songwriting, in the study of a passage of the Bible, and when around people who suddenly become awakened to conversion or spiritual truths.

    • Steve Simms says:

      Psalmistry is deeply moving when someone sings a new song from their heart that is being given to them directly by the Holy Spirit at that moment. It’s a powerful form of prophesy and it often stirs people’s hearts. Michael went prayer walking with me once and carried his guitar and offered to sing people a new song from God. A guy sitting on his front porch asked us what we were doing. Michael asked him if he wanted Michael to sing him a song from God. The man said yes, so Michael sang him a new song about how much God loved him. The man got tears in his eyes. After the song, he jumped up and asked if Michael would sing a song for his mother. He went inside and brought out an elderly woman. Then Michael sang a new song from God for her. All of us on that porch were very much aware of God!

  3. Steve Simms says:

    Who’s next? When do you feel closest to God?

  4. Glen Goddard says:

    Steve, I feel closest to God when I see a man start to move toward a deeper relationship with Jesus. It happened today at a Bistro in La Mesa CA. I’ve been meeting with this guy for over four months. It has been frustrating. The same negative things kept getting rehashed week after week. Today I noticed a small change. He was more positive. He actually had three verses memorized. But the God moment was when he linked on his own, two verses together [since the git-go he has resisted the learning of God’s Word] and made a conclusion about his life! That was nothing but the Holy Spirit whittling down the hardened defensive walls. .

  5. I am most aware of God’s presence when: I use to answer this questions with things like
    At Summer Camp
    At a spiritual retreat
    At a conference
    but i recall in my teens wanting God’s presence all the time. I came to realize I can have that same mountain top experience at home, in the shower, when i am in the hospital recovering from an accident that was no fault of my own, even in a typical dull church meeting!
    So i personal work on being in His presence every where and anywhere i am.
    It is not easy, i have to remove some distractions and turn other things off but sure enough, when i am stopped in traffic or walking in the mall or laying flat on the floor in pain i literally surround myself with Bible verses (some memorized, some on 3×5 cards) and I listen to Him and speak, sometimes cry and it is then that I feel closest to God.

    Your blog and this interaction is so healthy, thank you Steve and everyone involved!

Leave a Reply

