Godviously (With Respect To Those Who Don’t See God)

God is obvious

Some things are obvious. To me God is Godvious!
–Nothing makes nothing. It takes a someone to make something. I believe God is Godvious!
–A painter puts his name on his paintings. God puts His name all over Creation. He’s not hiding from you; God is Godvious!

As long as I can remember I’ve had a deep awareness of God. My nonreligious, non-church-going parents said that when I first started talking, I would frequently talk to them about God and ask questions about Him. Although no one taught me about God or encouraged me, as a child I talked to God every night before I went to sleep.

Eventually, partially as a result of my consistent asking, my parents stated taking our family to church. However, I found church extremely boring. Still, I went through classes, joined the church, and was baptized by sprinkling into a Presbyterian church when I was about 12. As a result of joining a Christian church I thought that made me a Christian.

Then one day, while sitting through a dull sermon, a question came to my mind: “If you were born a Hindu, what would you be today?” I thought about it and realized that I would have been a Hindu. Then another question ran through my thoughts: “Why do you think you’re a Christian?” And I suddenly realized that I only believed in Christ because church had taught me about Him. So I rejected Christianity, Christ, the Bible, Jesus’ resurrection, and all religion. However, I couldn’t reject what was obvious (Godvious) to me — the reality of some sort of creator. I wasn’t sure that the creator was a personal God, but I still believed that there was some kind or rational entity behind our existence. So I began to call myself an agnostic. However, I continued to talk to the unknown god.

Then one day I walked into a dorm meeting where ordinary people were talking about Jesus Christ like He is a living, personal being and actually in the room with us. Their words, their passion, their faith, their experiences, stirred me deeply and made the unknown god Godvious to me! I’ve never been the same since — never not felt God’s love, God’s presence — even in my most painful and confused times and my most difficult trials.

So if God is Godvious, why do so many people deny that they see Him? I believe it’s because God is like a window or a windshield or a pair of glasses or contact lenses. He’s right in front of our faces, but we look right through Him. We are distracted by and focused on things in the distance, so we look right past God and we fail to see what is Godviously right in front of our eyes.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in Christianity, conversion story, Creator, God is like, Hinduism, personal testimony, salvation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Godviously (With Respect To Those Who Don’t See God)

  1. Amen, thank Steve. I often joke with people and tell them the only drug problem i had was my parents drug me to church! But i had to come to that personal relationship with Christ too. He called me out and “God got a hold on me”. Good point you made, i need to make sure not to look right through Him but let Him work in and through me. Thanks for your blog.

Leave a Reply

