Is there any hope? (If so, where?)

Everybody needs hope. (Life without hope is hopeless.) So where is there any hope in human history?
–I don’t find hope in wars and military victories because they reveal the evil and cruelty that men can do to one another in the name of their country.
–I don’t find hope in kingdoms and nations because they are built on violence and subjection and always come to an end.
–However, I do find hope in individuals who lived to serve others and gave themselves to the betterment of humanity.
–But most of all I find hope in one solitary life who spoke and lived like no other human, who claimed to be God, but embraced humility. I find hope when I read the records of His life, death, and resurrection and the letters of His first followers. I find hope when He stirs in my soul and burns in my heart like fire! And full of hope I press on through life excited about my daily opportunity to follow and obey the living Jesus!

Christ-followers are full of hope. In a world desperate for hope, we must not keep it to ourselves! (“Christ in you, the hope of glory.” —Paul of Tarsus in Colossians 1:27)

Jesus thompkinsville

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in betterment of humanty, Christ in you the hope of, Colossians 1:27, glory, great victories, hope in Christ, hopeful, Jesus, kings and kingdoms, one solitary life, patriotism, Paul of Tarsus, serving others, spiritual warfare, violence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is there any hope? (If so, where?)

Leave a Reply

