How many fingers (members) should you (your church) use?

finger church

If a person only uses one finger and all the rest are kept frozen in place; the things that person can do will be very limited. That person will not live up to his/her possibilities.

If a church service only uses one person to preach and all the rest of the members are kept silently frozen in place; the things that church can do will be very limited. That church will not live up to its possibilities.

We have multiple fingers, because God wants us to use them all. They should not be allowed to atrophy.

Churches have multiple members, because God wants church meetings to use them all. They should not be allowed to atrophy.

The Bible puts it this way: “What then shall we say, brothers and sisters? When you come together, each of you (not just a preacher) has a hymn, or a word of instruction, a revelation, a tongue or an interpretation.” (1 Corinthians 14:26)

When a church begins to allow each member to share and speak in the meeting, they go beyond church and begin to experience the New Testament concept of ekklesia. More on ekklesia at this link.

 

 

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 14:26, ecclesia, ecclesiologist, ecclesiology, ekklesia, here's the church here's the steeple, house church, more than church, paralysis, simple church, Uncategorized, When you come together and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How many fingers (members) should you (your church) use?

  1. dhankle says:

    I am finding the organic church movement interesting but I am a little confused. I do recognize the need for everyone to be a part of the church experience and actively participating and contributing. I believe the Spirit should be free to inspire all present to contribute to the event. We lead a small church in Virginia beach but I would not say it meets the criteria of what is expressed as an organic church. We actually follow a liturgy, I lead it in the sense I facilitate its flow, and usually I provide the main message as well as another gentlemen who comes to service. Then, we open up the gathering to hear what others feel the Spirit is leading them to share. I love the smaller gatherings, the intimacy that comes with it, and the discipling and empowerment of what we are doing and it sounds like it has some common ground with what you describe, but what makes the idea of an organic church unique? Is it the fact it does away with “ministers”? If so, doesn’t that seem to contradict some of what we read in the scriptures? I would love to hear your thoughts on this. Thanks very much!

    • Steve Simms says:

      Thanks for such a thoughtful comment. I don’t think there is one, clear definition of “organic church.” I’ve switched to the New Testament term “ekklesia” which was mistranslated as “church” in most English language Bibles. Ekklesia was the city council of Greek city-states.
      –I wrote a book called “Beyond Church . . .” sharing thoughts. It’s available at Amazon. To me the concept of “organic church/ekklesia” is a gathering directly led by the living, resurrected Jesus Christ. Ministers are “overseers” who function like officials in basketball or football. They don’t direct the meeting, but observe the meeting and step in to correct it and get it back into the hands of the Spirit, if it should get off track.
      –As far as what you are doing, it sounds exciting. Thanks for allowing a part of the meeting for everyday people to share as they are prompted by the Spirit.

      • dhankle says:

        I like that idea Steve. I was raised a Roman Catholic and I started to become uncomfortable with the ecclesial structure about three years ago. I had a call to ministry and could not fulfill it in that church and became very interested in the convergence movement. I was ordained a priest in the Communion of Evangelical Episcopal Churches. I like their idea of being a communion first and foremost. I also like that while there is a hierarchy it is not an imposing structure, rather a framework to work within. I never want to be one of those “imposing presences” among our gathered group. I believe that ministry should imitate our Lord’s way of doing things. If I go away, those who gather with me should be able to continue. Thanks again for sharing information about this way of being church, I am interested in learning more!

  2. Kim Ilene says:

    When you study the great “revivals” every one is an instance in which God finally got to lead and be in control of His own meetings. And in every instance, the revivals died out when man stepped in and took back that control and did things his way. Average men are not comfortable relinquishing control to God. Look at every person who is adamantly opposed to the gifts of the Spirit – and ESPECIALLY speaking in tongues – in every case you will find someone who is terrified of God in his/her inner being. I think overseers should act more like referees and ushers – make sure that no one gets “slain in the Spirit” and cracks their head on the back of a chair; make sure there’s no witches/warlocks/satanists trying to infiltrate and influence the meetings; make sure manifestations are godly and – if not – perform deliverance as necessary. Essentially, they should stop focusing on getting their ego stroked as HEAD HONCHO PASTOR MUY IMPORTANTE and get out of the way and let God work. That’s the organic part of organic ekklesia. Organic = God working naturally through people the way He wants. Plastic church = rules, rituals and doing things the way we’ve always done them. I’m not against liturgy (although quite frankly I personally am not moved by rituals of any kind); I’m just disappointed when lliturgy becomes the ONLY thing and people don’t get that God is SO much more than that.

Leave a Reply

