Does Donald Trump need forgiveness?

Paul of Tarsus said:

  • “For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwells no good thing.” (Romans 7:18)
  • “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” (Romans 3:23)
  • “Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners–of whom I am the worst.” (1 Timothy 1:15)

Donald Trump said:

  • “I’m not sure I have ever asked God’s forgiveness.”
  • “Why do I have to repent? Why do I have to ask for forgiveness if you’re not making mistakes?”
  • “I like to be good, I don’t like to have to ask for forgiveness. And I am good.”

Jesus said:

  • “No one is good except God alone.” (Luke 18:19)

I used to believe like Donald Trump. I was convinced that I was a good person. I tried to be good and when I compared myself with people around me who were openly doing bad things, I came out looking good to myself.

Like Donald, I was a Presbyterian. Every Sunday the preacher would have a time of silent prayer so that we could ask God for forgiveness. I used to silently pray, “God, I don’t really know anything I need to ask forgiveness for.”

However, when I was in college, something amazing happened inside of me.  I had an encounter with the living, resurrected Jesus Christ. Then I began to read the Bible and it burned in my heart. As I read those quotes from Paul and other verses, I began to clearly see that I was not a good person–that that my heart was evil. I began to see clearly that I have the potential to do any bad thing that anyone one else has done.

I realized that I did not deserve forgiveness or a relationship with God. Deep within, I understood that if God gives me what I deserve, I will be eternally separated from Him. And then I saw His great mercy. Christ accepted the punishment for my evil motives and behaviors, so that I can receive His mercy and forgiveness, and be set free from my inner and outer bondage to evil. That has been my primary pursuit and desire ever since.

And so I continue to pray: “Lord Jesus Christ, Son of the living God, have mercy on me a sinner.” –The Jesus Prayer taught in The Way Of The Pilgrim and The Philokalia.

trump

 

 

 

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in all have sinned, Bible, chief of sinners, evangelicals, faith in politics, have mercy on me a sinner, Jesus prayer, Philokalia, repent, repentance, salvation, saved, sin, sinner, the way of the pilgrim, Trump forgiveness, Uncategorized, what does it mean to be saved and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Does Donald Trump need forgiveness?

  1. Randy Rudder says:

    Trump’s sophomoric insults have rankled me some, but to date, this has been the most troubling thing he has said. With no humility, how can anyone ever lead a nation? I think Cruz, Rubio and Carson are all men to true faith who would surround themselves with wise people and seek divine guidance.

Leave a Reply

