Pledging Allegiance To The Living, Resurrected Jesus Christ

The early Christ-followers continually got in trouble with government and with religion because they proclaimed “Jesus is Lord” (the absolute Master and Ruler high above all nations, governments, and religions). Their declaration of dependence on and surrender to the supreme authority of Jesus Christ was not just in their words, but also in the way that they lived their lives.

There is only room for one Lord (Absolute Master) in a person’s life. If I’m controlling and/or running my life, then Jesus isn’t. If a government, organization, or some other authority is controlling and/0r running my life, then Jesus isn’t. If a religion or a set of rules is controlling and/or running my life, then Jesus isn’t. If conforming to society and trying to be accepted and approved of by living like my peers is controlling and/or running my life, then Jesus isn’t.

Christ calls us to follow Him. Therefore:

I pledge allegiance to the living, resurrected Jesus Christ and to His kingdom (His active rule and dominion on earth) above every other authority and government. Rather than following my own opinions and desires, or conforming to pubic opinion and the society around me; I pledge to continually listen to Him speak in my heart and through the Bible, and to daily follow and obey what He tells me.

“Therefore God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, and at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, or those who in heaven, and on the earth, and under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” (Philippians 2:9-11)

091

To learn practical ways to make Jesus the Lord (the Head of His body) when we gather for worship; check out: Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible–Ekklesia (pictured at the foot of the cross above).

 

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in Be strong in the Lord and the power of His might, eyes of the Lord, I saw the Lord, joy of the Lord, let the redeemed of the Lord say so, Lord have mercy, Lord Jesus Christ, love the Lord your God, magnify the Lord, My Lord and my God, O taste and see that the Lord is good, Prepare the way of the Lord, Speak Lord, Uncategorized, what does Lord mean? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

