America’s big lie about black men

America was settled and then founded on a huge lie (this was not a little white lie) about black men, women, and children. The lie says that black skin is somehow shameful. That big lie, buried deep within our national subconsciousness, releases negative, emotional reactions (uneasiness, suspicion, caution, dislike, fear, disdain, superiority, anger, etc.) when a great many Americans see black skin. Then those reactions make us blind to the unique person within. That lie is especially powerful in labeling black men.

We call that big white lie race. However, in the Bible there is only one race — the human race. To categorize people and treat them differently because of skin shade, makes no more sense than to do so because of eye color. Truth is all people belong to the same race.

Black men are amazing people (and it is a lie to believe they are not)! The news tonight broke my heart and made me cry several times. (The stories included an unarmed black man with two policeman kneeling on his back being shot point blank in Louisiana and a black man in Minnesota, stopped for a broken tail light, shot when he told the police officer that he has a licensed gun.)  I don’t get it. This morning I heard that a hate-filled sniper in Dallas began to shoot and kill policemen at a rally. America’s big white lie has got to stop before it blows up our country! We must repent of this evil lie (and get it out of our subconscious minds) that has plagued America since the first Africans were forcibly brought ashore by human traffickers in 1619!

We love black men at The Salvation Army Berry Street. Their gender/color combo doesn’t make us afraid or suspicious. Personally I’ve found black men to be very easy to talk with and get along with. For two summers I sold books by myself, door to door, in black neighborhoods, and I never had any problem with a black man. I’ve walked streets where black men were selling drugs. I’ve worked with hundreds of black men (and white men) in a Salvation Army Rehab Center. I’ve prayer walked in so-called “dangerous” neighborhoods and gone to places police told me not to go and still had no problems. I’ve held hands with street-looking black men, praying for them, and many times I’ve seen them cry. America, stop telling and believing lies about black men!

While I was writing this blog this morning, my wife received a phone call from a family we love. A family of 6 young black men, their sister, and cousins were about to lose their grandmother, who was found unconscious in bed this morning. This family has been part of Berry Street since we began 8 1/2 years ago. Ernie and I went to the emergency room to try to comfort this family in their grief. Seeing these young men in their twenties with tears of grief in their eyes was deeply moving.

We went to an urban grocery store to get food for the family. We don’t normally shop there so we needed help. While shopping, four different black men who work in the store were incredibly nice to us and helped us find what we needed. Then we walked into a restaurant and a black man who was in front of us opened the door, but didn’t go in. Instead he held the door open for us. (See what great people black men are!)

Here’s a pic of me and one of the most amazing men I know! It’s time to stop believing the national lie about black men.

320523_2612873120003_495997703_n

So what is the big lie about black men (and women)? It has been told since the 1600s and is still believed by many millions during the 21st Century. Check out America’s (big) white lie about black people here.

The truth is that black skin and black people are beautiful!

Here’s a pic of me and Christian rapper Viktory. What an amazing guy! America, tear down the lie!

rap7

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. I have written two books: Mindrobics: How To Be Happy For The Rest Of Your Life and Your Sperm Won--Experiencing Your Value As A Championship Human Being. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I lead a non-traditional church in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the early church come to life in our time.
This entry was posted in African American experience, African Americans, black history, black is beautiful, blue eyes brown eyes, healing racism, police violence, racial healing, racial reconciliation, red and yellow black and white, Uncategorized, violence, violence epidemic, violence in society and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

