When God flows like Niagara Falls (Seeing is believing.)

Since I was a child growing up in Arkansas, I’ve heard about Niagara Falls. However, everything that I have heard and all the pictures I have seen of Niagara Falls couldn’t convey the reality of the falls to me. When I finally went to see Niagara Falls this week, it was so much grander than I expected. I have seen numerous waterfalls, but all of them put together would be dwarfed by Niagara’s two massive falls.

That’s the way many people are about Jesus Christ. They have heard about Him. They have seen religious pictures. Yet, all the sermons and all the icons in the world cannot convey even a tiny fraction of the reality of the living, resurrected Jesus. To fully appreciate His power and grandeur, He (like Niagara Falls) must be experienced in person.

My visit to Niagara Falls was hands-on. I looked at it from many vantage points on both the Canadian and the American sides. I ate in a restaurant above it. I went in a tunnel behind the Canadian falls and felt the power up close. I rode a boat to the base of the falls and felt the mist and wind pushing my body around. Even wearing a poncho, I was drenched. When I got off the boat I had to literally wring out the sleeves on my jacket. What an experience!

me-niagara

That’s the kind of experience we need with Jesus. It’s not enough to just hear about Him in sermon after sermon until we are so board that we fall asleep. We need to experience Jesus like I experienced Niagara Falls. But how?

Take the time to listen to Him, then do what He tells you. Dive into the book about Him with an open heart. Talk to Him. Gather informally with people who let Jesus flow though them in love, in words, and in the gifts of the Holy Spirit.

When ordinary people are allowed to show and tell what God has done as they feel led by the Spirit, the power and presence of the living, resurrected Jesus flow like Niagara Falls. Experience this for yourself at The Salvation Army Berry Street in Nashville where instead of a one-man sermon, everyday people show and tell what God has done — Sundays @ 10:45 am., 225 Berry St., 37207. Learn more about it in the book, Beyond Church, available in Kindle & paperback available at this link.

niagara-falls

 

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in analogy for church, Arkansas, awe, awe in church, awe inspiring, Christ's presence, church, experiencing God, experiencing Jesus, flowing in the Spirit, God's flow, Holy Spirit flow, how to flow in the spirit, icons, living water, rivers of living water, top attractions in, Uncategorized, whitewater, whitewater river and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

