Miraculous grief comfort in a Christ-led support group

God supernaturally used The Salvation Army Berry Street (a Christ-led support group or ekklesia) to comfort me as my dad was dying on Sunday, November 20, this year. Here’s how it happened.

Our worship leader asked if anyone would like to share a song. (Our worship leaders change every week and they almost never ask that.) Someone who was at Berry Street just the third time, got up and said that he would like to sing a song that he wrote after his father died. (He didn’t know that my dad was close to death.) As he sang I began to weep.

People began to gather around me, hug me, hold my hand, pray over me, and even share a special word from the Lord for me. I was so comforted and strengthened. Only God could have arranged the meeting like that. I am so grateful to be a part of a body of believers that lets the Holy Spirit direct the meeting and that genuinely loves one another! I’ve seen God deeply touch so many people through the open format at Berry Street. This time it was my turn. Thank You, Jesus! My father left this world at 2:45 the next morning.

With God’s miraculous comfort, I wrote this:

When I think about my father, Charlie Simms:
–I think about his love for and kindness to others. I have never had any doubt that he loves me, everyone in our family, his friends, and even strangers. He has always been one of my best supporters and best friends.
–I think about his character. I have never heard him say a cuss word or put anyone down. I have never known of him to lie, get drunk, or to be unfaithful in anyway. I have been continually inspired and awed by his integrity.
–I think about his optimism. He is the most positive, peaceful, and contented person I have ever met. Even in very hard times, he has always looked for, hoped for, and expected the best.
–And now I believe that he has entered into God’s best!
–The Bible puts it this way: “For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say ‘No’ to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, who gave Himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.”

daddy

Charlie Simms

Here’s an obituary my brother wrote:

Charles (Charlie) Ray Simms was born on July 11, 1928 in Spur, TX to Oscar Brince Simms and Ida Bell Havens Simms. He was their seventh and youngest child. He spent his earliest years in West Texas until his dad moved to West Memphis, AR to find work during the Great Depression. There he attended and graduated from Hulbert High School where he played center on their six man football team. Blessed with an excellent voice, he decided to pursue broadcasting as a career. He worked for many radio stations in small towns across the south. While working in Tupelo, MS, he met Dorothy Rae Beeding and they were married and blessed with a 66 year union until she passed away in October of 2014. He is survived by a sister, Doris Simms Garrett, West Memphis, AR, three sons, Charles Steven (Steve) Simms (Ernie), Nashville, TN; Russell “Scott” Simms (Donna), Florissant, CO and Richard (Rick) Jay Simms (Debbie), Franklin, TN; six grandchildren: Erin, Claire, Zach, Savannah, Amelia and Jessica and seven great-grandchildren: Isaac, Ayden, Ian, Wyatt, Champ, Shannon and Naomi. Charlie spent extended periods at radio and TV stations in Little Rock and Jonesboro, AR along with Jackson and Murfreesboro, TN. He was a master salesman, a firm and loving disciplinarian of his boys and one of the most positive, optimistic people anyone ever knew. He entered into the presence of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ on November 21, 2016 in Nashville, TN. He will be greatly missed by his family and friends……until we meet again.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Berry Street, Christian support group, comfort for grief, ekklesia, funeral, funerals, group therapy, healing, healing life's hurts, inner healing, miraculous, mourning, Salvation Army, Salvation Army Berry Street, self-help group, spiritual healing, support group, support groups, those who mourn, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

