Have we overthought Christianity?

Beyond theology and religious methodology there is the wondrous experience of continually being in awe-inspiring, intimate interaction with the living, resurrected Jesus. That experience is the normal Christian life that is presented in the New Testament.   An old hymn puts it this way: “And He walks with me and He talks with me and He tells me I am His own, and the joy we share as as we tarry there, none other has ever known.”

Is that experience the norm for Christians in the 21st century? In your life? If not why? Perhaps it is because we overthink and under-trust-and-obey.

Maybe these thoughts about overthinking would be helpful:

“Over thinking leads to problems that don’t even exist in the first place.” –Jayson Engay

“I think and I think and think. I’ve thought myself out of happiness one million times.” –Jonathan Safran Foer

“Overthinking is a dream killer. Sometimes you can drown yourself in your own thoughts.” –Steve Maraboli

“Overthinking is literally a gateway to negative thoughts.” –Kemmy Nola

“Overthinking the process will kill any career in the creative space.” Casey Neistat

“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.” –Albert Einstein

“Don’t overanalyze what you see. I have a feeling that you’re over-thinking things. Give it some time, and the pieces of this puzzle might come together.” –Jessica Park

“The sensible part of me wanted to dissect my emotions, overthinking and overcomplicating my reaction.” –Becca Fitzpatrick

“That leads to overthinking, which kills any spontaneity and the humanity of the performance.” –Jack White

“Over thinking ruins moods and kills good vibes.” –SupaNova Slom

“I second-guess and overthink and rethink every single thing that I do.” –Taylor Swift

“Be where you are, stop overthinking, and focus on what you are doing.”  –Roy T Bennett

“Don’t overthink things. Sometimes you can convince your head not to listen to your heart. Those are the decisions you regret for the rest of your life.” –Leah Braemel

“We are dying from overthinking. We are slowly killing ourselves by thinking about everything. Think. Think. Think. You can never trust the human mind anyway. It’s a death trap.” –Anthony Hopkins

“The more you overthink the less you will understand.” –Habeeb Akande

“You can’t be that kid standing at the top of the water slide, overthinking it. You have to go down the chute.” –Tina Fey

“I stopped overthinking when I realized that I’m really not that smart.” –Bob Miglani

Tired of overthinking your faith. Learn how to experience the Greek New Testament concept of ekklesia at this link.

 

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in Becca Fitzpatrick, Casey Neistat, Habeeb Akande, happiness, harmful thinking, Jack White, Jayson Engay, Jessica Park, Jonathan Safran Foer, Kemmy Nola, Leah Braemel, logical thinking, positive thinking, power of thinking, proverbs, quotation, Quotations, quote, recovery quotes, Roy T Bennett, sayings, Steve Maraboli, SupaNova Slom, thinking, Tina Fey, Uncategorized, unhappiness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

