Encountering Reality in the ER

No human is fully awake to the love and relationship that God has for her/him. Scripture says God is able to do “exceeding abundantly above all we can ask or think.” It also says “Awake you that sleep.”

I recently got a wake up call. For a couple of weeks my chest has been aching a little and I was noticing that my heart was beating irregularly from time to time. I was also having a tingling in my face. I contacted my doctor and set up an appointment with him. He said that if the irregular heartbeat happens again, I need to go to the emergency room. Early Saturday night, it began again; so Ernie took me to the ER at St. Thomas Hospital in Nashville.

Very quickly I was put on a gurney, flat on my back, with electrodes on my chest and a port in a vein. Because my grandfather had died with a heart attack and because one of my younger brothers had a light heart attack two years ago, people were taking my symptoms very seriously.

Suddenly I was in the hands of strangers who were doing strange things to me like shooting liquids up my vein and giving me a pill to take. I let them do whatever they wanted to. Later that night they did a brain scan, but they said that it didn’t show anything. (I wonder where my brain was hiding?) (The next morning they even shot radioactive material into me so I might be glowing the next time you see me.)

Wake-up call 1) Strange how I can have such trust in strangers and let them do whatever to me; when I sometimes struggle with what God wants to do with me. Who knows what God would do if I would surrender to Him as completely as I surrendered to the ER staff.

Wake-up call 2) My time to obey God and let Him use me in this world is limited and could expire at any moment. I need to be about our Father’s business wholeheartedly, not just partially.

Wake-up call 3) Every moment is a gift that I need to deeply appreciate it. One day that series of momentary gifts will be gone. Every second of our lives is more precious than gold because even all the money in the world won’t buy another second when your time has come.

Wake-up call 4) I am so blessed with good health, good quality of life, a wonderful wife, good family, good friends and coworkers, good job, good opportunities to share the Gospel and love others, a lot of godly people who are ready to pray for and support me, and in so many other ways! Thank You, Jesus!

The tests in the ER didn’t show anything wrong with my heart, but they wanted to keep me overnight and do a “stress test” the next morning. A cardiologist talked with me and said if the stress test turned out okay, that he would “reassure” me and send me home, but if not he would want to do an invasive dye test. The stress test showed that my heart is normal so they assume that my symptoms were the result of emotional stress.

Wake-up call 5) Let go and let God. I need to rest in God and wait on Him to work in and through me, and not try to force things with my own will and determination.

Everyday is a gift. I am grateful to have this day to live, to lovingly interact with others, and to follow Jesus. And I’m glad that Jesus is my, doctor — my Chief Medical Officer.

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I co-lead a non-traditional expression of the body of Christ in Nashville based on open participation and Spirit-led sharing. We long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia" that is available in Kindle & paperback @ http://amzn.to/2nCr5dP
This entry was posted in above all we can ask or think, awake you that sleep, chief medical officer, Christianity, doctors, healing, heart, heart care, heart monitor, It is not the healthy who need a doctor, Nashville news, next heart beat, religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Encountering Reality in the ER

  1. Great perspective on your “Wake-up calls!” Thanks for sharing your experience:-)

Leave a Reply

