WDJSM? What Did Jesus Say Most?

What did Jesus say most (WDJSM)?  The phrase most frequently used by Jesus in the Bible seems to be:  “He who has ears, let him hear.”  Jesus  is quoted as saying those words 7 times in the Gospels (8 if you count Matthew 4:23 which most of the modern translations leave out).  He also says a variation of that phrase, “He who has an ear, let him hear,” 7 times in the book of Revelation.   That’s a total of 15 times.  Perhaps we should take those words seriously.

Jesus also said:  “My sheep hear my voice.”  In Revelation 3:20, Jesus says:  “Behold I stand at the door and knock, if anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him and he with Me.”

Peter, in one of his sermons recorded in Acts, quotes Moses and says that he is referring to Jesus:  “Anyone who does not listen to Him will be completely cut off from their people.”

From His first disciples to the present day, millions of people around the world from various time periods, language groups, and cultures have personally heard Jesus speak to them and converse with them.  Have you heard His voice?  Are you listening?  If you listen, Jesus may surprise you like he did Mary Magdalene.

Mary went to the tomb after Jesus was crucified.  She saw a man who she thought was the gardener and asked him:  “If you have taken Him away, tell me where you put Him.”  He called her by name, “Mary.”  Suddenly she realized that it was Jesus who she had been speaking to all along.  Jesus is speaking even though you may not realize that it is Jesus.  But once you hear Him call you by your name, you will never be the same.

Sometimes I will say “Jesus I love you.”  Then immediately I hear Him say:  “Steve Simms, I love you,” and I am deeply moved.  This is not some strange theology, but as I have shown, it comes from some of Jesus’ most repeated words.

It has also been accepted by various denominations since the beginning that Jesus still speaks.  For example, how many Christian denominations have sung the song:  “He walks with me, and He talks with me, and He tells me I am His own.”?

It is common nowadays to hear about Jesus in sermons, on religious TV shows, and from some of His courageous and zealous followers.  But that is nothing like hearing Him call you by name.  “He who has ears, let him hear.”

For a video about how to hear God’s voice, go to:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QybEf2PJal0&t=119s

In the book of Revelation Jesus puts it this way: “Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the ekklesias.” Unfortunately most English translations misstranslate the word ekklesia as church. To learn more about that check out my new book, Beyond Church — An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible — Ekklesia; available at Amazon.

104

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences in non-traditional church, called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia." If you need encouragement, search for: Elephants Encouraging The Room and/or check out my Amazon author page. Thank you!
This entry was posted in awe, Bible, Christ, Christian history, Christianity, church history, Gospels, hearing God, hearing Jesus, Jesus, Jesus Christ, Mary Magdalene, Matthew, miracles, Moses, mystery, mysticism, Peter, Quotations, Quotes, religion, revelation, saints, sermons, spiritual, spiritual disciplines, spiritual formation, spiritual growth, spiritual skills, spiritual warfare, television, TV ministers, Uncategorized, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WDJSM? What Did Jesus Say Most?

  1. Hello, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed this article. It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  2. ELIZABETH S says:

    YES, BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, WE MUST OBEY WHAT WE HEAR!

Leave a comment