Done, undone, or not done?

Done, undone, or not done?

Pentecost is called “the birthday of the church.” It was when the Holy
Spirit came to the early church in mighty power. So how’s it going in the 21st Century?
–Has the contemporary church replaced the presence and power of Holy Spirit with a program and a preacher’s performance?

–The “Dones” are people who have given up on the traditional church format.

dones

–The “Undones” are people who are overcome and overwhelmed by the presence and power of the Holy Spirit.
(“Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts.” –Isaiah the Prophet)

pentecostA

–The “Not-Dones” are people who are still trying to hang with the program.

boredom in church

(“The term “Dones” was inspired by October’s [2014] ‘Future of the Church‘ conference in Loveland, Colo., where sociologist Josh Packard presented research about the growing group of Americans who are abandoning organized Christianity.” –Jeff Brumley.)
–(The terms “Undones” and “Not-Dones” were coined by me.)

Check out my new book, Beyond Church — An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible — Ekklesia; available at Amazon.

129

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences in non-traditional church, called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia." If you need encouragement, search for: Elephants Encouraging The Room and/or check out my Amazon author page. Thank you!
This entry was posted in church programs, Colorado, contemporary church, Future of the Church, I am undone, Isaiah, Isaiah 6:5, Loveland, my eyes have seen, nones, organized religion, Pentecost, people of unclean lips, prophet, Woe is me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Done, undone, or not done?

  1. Paul says:

    Awesome rebuttal to the label “done”! I have read serious Christian articles using that label and reasons why leaders need to get “dones” back into “church” but not one of them takes a serious look at why people are leaving; Church is boring (yet God is amazing!), they are stagnant in personal growth, questioning why we “do church” like we do instead of what it looks like in the bible or they feel like leaving traditional meetings is the only way to preserve their faith. Anyway, I am glad to called “undone” and the only thing I’m done with is boredom. BTW love the Mr. Bean pic, that picture is truly worth a thousand words!

  2. Steve Simms says:

    Thank you, Paul. I think we have forces some of the most spiritual people out of church because of our unwillingness to be led by the Spirit rather than tradition!

Leave a comment