Weakly Reader makes me strong!

When I was in elementary school we were regularly given a publication called “Weekly Reader.” Did you get that when you were in school?

However, as an adult I have learned to depend on another publication — “Weakly Reader.” It is a collection of writings by various authors who openly show and admit their faults, failings, and weaknesses. Why do they do that? Because it’s healing to open up. One of the authors of the “Weakly Reader” says: “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that you may be healed.”

Another writer says: “Where I am weak, I am strong.” That sounds like an oxymoron. But hey, it’s one of the main principles of the “Weakly Reader.” When I feel like I can handle things by myself, I only access my own strength. However, when I feel weak, and realize that I can’t make it by myself; then I humbly access the power of the living, resurrected Jesus Christ.

The “Weakly Reader” continually reveals my weaknesses to me and challenges me to lay them down and instead of trusting in my own strength or resources, to trust in the presence of Jesus working in and through me. That makes all the difference!

Another name for the “Weakly Reader” is the Bible. Weak people read it daily, like their life depends on it. Strong people feel little or no need to daily read the Bible. As for me, I don’t do very well, unless I read at least a little bit every day.

weekly reader

About Steve Simms

I like to look and think outside the box. In college I encountered Jesus Christ and I have been passionate about trying to get to know Him better ever since. My wife and I long to see the power and passion of the first Christ-followers come to life in our time. I have written a book about our experiences in non-traditional church, called, "Beyond Church: An Invitation To Experience The Lost Word Of The Bible--Ekklesia." If you need encouragement, search for: Elephants Encouraging The Room and/or check out my Amazon author page. Thank you!
This entry was posted in Bible reading, challenge, challenges, Christianity, confess your sins, confession, elementary school, healing, pray for one another, reading, self-surrender, spiritual growth, spiritual healing, spiritual health, spiritual reading, spirituality, surrender, surrender to God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Weakly Reader makes me strong!

  1. So true! Another scripture that goes along with this is: 2 Corinthians 12:9 – Jesus was talking to The Apostle Paul and said: “My grace is sufficient for you, for my strength is made perfect in weakness.”

Leave a comment